Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I have cooked the thanksgiving meal for a huge family for years and this year I tried this recipe. Everyone said it was the moistest and most delicious turkey I have ever cooked. Thank you so much for the recipe. This will be the way I cook turkey from now on! One suggestion for serving - if you take the cooked mixture that was in the bird and sprinkle it on top of a slice of turkey, it is even more amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaratogaEric

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Round Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Used on two turkey breast with good results in that the meat was moist. As previously reviewed by someone else, I marinated it overnight in the broth and champagne. However, honestly, I did not think all the spices and vegetables really was worth all the trouble as the amount of flavoring that was infused into the meat was minimal for all the work. Likely could have had similar results by also just using the broth, keeping the bird covered during baking and not overbaking to have a moist meat in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I used this recipe loosely..I usually don't comment if I don't follow the instructions as written. Had to make an exception this time. When I went to the grocery store to get the last of the items I needed it was too early to buy the champagne. I decided to use sparkling grape juice. By the time I got home I decided that the juice may be too sweet so added some apple cider vinegar. Besides that I followed the recipe and this was the best turkey I have ever had. I am sending this one to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colette
Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Try it with beer instead of champagne. Best, moistest white meat ever, and gravy was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Great turkey! I screwed up and depended on the pop-up timer which didn't work. The turkey ended up staying the oven almost an hour longer than it should have and the bird was still moist and juicy. The herbs were perfect. I think I found my favorite turkey recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
The BEST juiciest turkey I ever made and ate! The family absolutely LOVED it! I didn't have oranges so I used several tangelo's instead. Followed the rest of the recipe to a tee. New way to cook turkeys and I am gonna try the ingredients with a baked chicken. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I just tried this recipe yesterday. I was looking for a recipe that would make a "juicy" turkey. I was at first worried about adding the alcohol - not sure if it would leave an after taste. Well, I must say, this was the best turkey I've made yet!!! There were no leftovers and the dark and white meat were so tasty. I followed the recipe exactly - just needed to cook the 20 lbs longer than stated on the recipe. I will definitely do this one again. The bird looked beautiful for presentation also... What a wonderful way to prepare the turkey. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
After 40 years of cooking turkeys, I will never use another recipe again! I rubbed in the spices as given, but then stuffed the turkey as I normally would. I then rubbed olive oil and kosher salt on the outside of the turkey before covering it with the chicken broth and champaign. I covered it with foil as directed, but let the 16.5 lb turkey bake for 4 hrs before uncovering it for the last hour. It was perfect and the white meat melted in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by julzkourie
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This really is the most delicious and super moist turkey recipe. The only things I did differently were to purchase a brined turkey and cover the bird in bacon slices - for the entire cooking time. The juices made the most delicious gravy. This was my first time roasting a turkey and it was such a success thanks to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Try with bag or roaster...moister than the usual bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

Lauren's Apple Cider Roast Turkey

Apple cider brined turkey, roasted to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States