Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I tried this recipe this Thanksgiving. Since it was my first time making the turkey and ham, I was so nervous. Turkey came out great everyone loved it. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was amazing and super simple! Hands down, the juiciest turkey with the least amount of effort. Make sure to use a DEEP baking/roasting dish as the liquid really bubbles up. Same goes for foil tent over the turkey, keep it crimped on the pan to avoid an in oven mess! I'm going to try a bag for this reason next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Perfect turkey, every single time. It is so moist and delicious. The juices make the BEST gravy. I am the only one allowed to cook the turkey for holidays now. The only thing extra I do is brine the turkey a day before and adjust cooking times depending on the bird's weight. I am so grateful for this recipe. It's the one I used for my first Thanksgiving I cooked and will use it until my last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I have to agree with everybody else, this is the best turkey I've ever made. I marinated the turkey the night before and stuffed it before cooking. Everybody loved it. My sister came back on Friday for the left overs. I even posted it in my fb..that's how proud I was about it...Thank you for sharing this recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
First timer, yet best turkey I ever tasted, most moist, and so tender I carved half with just my bare hands. No champagne, used red wine. Added 1 quart of drippings, shredded meat, juices, and skin from a pork roast a few days earlier. Skipped the skin crisping stage and kept it in the foil. Substituted salt with seasoning salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made my first turkey this Thanksgiving and followed this recipe. The turkey was awesome and came out super juicy! I have never tasted a turkey like it. The meat was falling off of the bone so well we barely needed a knife to cut the turkey. I marinated the turkey (with all spices the recipe calls for) in the champagne and chicken broth the day before and baked for about 6 hours on 250 degrees. Then, reheated it an hour before Thanksgiving dinner on 350. I'd recommend this recipe to anyone. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This was the first turkey I've ever made. I was terrified by all the nay-sayers out there saying that turkey was so difficult to get right and that even a perfectly made turkey was not moist or flavorful. Not being a terribly seasoned chef, I followed the recipe to the letter, and let me tell you... This recipe proves them all wrong!!! My husband even begrudgingly said that it was better than his father's! He thought something was wrong because he'd never seen so much juice when he cut into it. I believe it was as close to perfect as a turkey can get! Thank you so much for this gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Nolen Woods

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I have made this (minus the chicken stock and carrots) for several years. It's on point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loislain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Didn't add chicken broth; 15 lb turkey cooked almost 5 hours. Broth was great for noodles and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Tried to find the perfect turkey recipe over a lot of years and finally I found it! This will be my go to every Thanksgiving. I used a turkey roasting bag and also rubbed some of the seasoning under the skin. I used a dry champagne because I didn't want a sweet gravy. These drippings made a wonderful gravy. The following is how I made my gravy if you are interested. I make my turkey the day before Thanksgiving. Take all the meat off the bone and place in a zip lock bag with enough drippings to keep the turkey moist and then refrigerate. Place the remaining drippings in a zip lock bag and refrigerate overnight. The Next Day: Warm the turkey in a crock pot with just enough added chicken stock to keep moist. The fat in the drippings bag will gel and come to the top of the bag. I skim the fat off the top and warm the remaining drippings in a pan with 8 cups of chicken stock and a couple sprigs of rosemary. Meanwhile in a large pan make a roux by melting 4 tablespoons of butter and then sprinkle ½ cup of flour into butter. (I double this so I have extra roux if I need more thickener) Cook on medium heat for 4 minutes. Gradually add the warmed broth to roux stirring with a wisk. Heat on medium high heat until desired thickness. Salt and pepper to taste. Pour through sifter to remove rosemary and any clumps of roux. Keep warm in pan or crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

Lauren's Apple Cider Roast Turkey

Apple cider brined turkey, roasted to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States