Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Even though I changed a few things, I am writing a review because I think the process in this recipe matters more than anything. I wanted to follow the recipe exactly, but I found it Thanksgiving morning, so I had to go with what was on hand. The turkey was perfect (super juicy) and the gravy was phenomenal. Part of that was by accident... and I sure hope I can repeat it in the future! I placed a few rings of oranges and apples on the bottom of a roasting pan, which I had drizzled with olive oil. I didn't do this for any other reason than to raise the turkey a bit off the bottom of the pan. Since the turkey was wrapped in foil so well for the first few hours, the fruit cooked (burned a bit) and then when I opened the foil to cook the turkey for the last hour, some of the juices went into the bottom and "merged" with the overcooked fruit. I had enough liquid from the pan to make a ton of gravy and it was AMAZING. It was very dark and flavorful. A couple other changes - I didn't have champagne on hand (though I will try that next time), so I used Martinelli's Sparkling Cider. It worked well... not too sweet, like you might think. Also, I didn't have all of the spices in the recipe, so I decided to use Trader Joe's 21 Seasoning Salute. I'm sure the original recipe is also delicious, but the changes I had to make worked out really well (especially the accidental burning of the fruit in the pan!). Thank you for posting this -- I was getting bored the same turkey taste every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Don't look any further than this!!!! I was nervous since this was the first time I had to cook a turkey myself but I followed recipe exactly except instead of using champagne I uses gingerale but I got rave reviews everyone couldn't believe how juicy and tasteful it was
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I used this recipe last thanksgiving and am excited to do it again this year. My husband is a picky eater and it is the first thanksgiving I had to make the turkey; for 40 of my inlaws at that. Needless to say he went to work bragging about my turkey. Thank you Kirsten for this recipe you made me look like a hero.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I have a question. I have never made this recipe. My roaster has a little half inch rack that goes in it. Do I use the rack or let everything sit in the foil? BTW, super excited about trying this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
THis recipe was really good. I had no lemon pepper, I don't believe we missed it at all. I had no champagne, so I used ginger ale and wine mix. The only other revision was I used less salt.. I had 12 people for this meal, and they all loved the turkey. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I just used this recipe in a test run for thanksgiving recipes and it was fantastic! I did brine the turkey overnight using water, champagne, apple cider vinegar and salt, and added apples to the cavity along with the carrot onion and celery. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sblack1438

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Juiciest, most delicious turkey ever! Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
An amazing recipe! Everyone raved about the turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I have made this turkey for the past 2 Thanksgivings. It is DELICIOUS. Turns out moist and nicely-flavored. Plus the champagne drippings make a wonderful gravy. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I just made it tonight, It was amazing followed recipe and it turned out super moist! my whole family raved about it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States