Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Awesome. I just used the champagne, oranges, and salt and pepper because I forgot to review the recipe before I put it in a baking bag. Made wonderful gravy. Moist turkey. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Okay, I read it, and I bought the sparkling wine, and I did it! I'm so glad I did-just like everyone said here-it was the moistest turkey ever with such great taste-I used the drippings to make a great gravy-even better than the usual gravy. What a hit-thanks for the recipe-it's now a family favorite and I just love saying that's it's "Champagne Turkey!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I usually brine my turkeys so had some second thoughts about 2 hours into cooking time but I needn't have worried. This turkey was so juicy and flavorful that my dad couldn't carve it fast enough. My entire family crowded around him and ate it off the plate and, after I shooed them all away, they picked the carcass clean. I followed the directions exactly with an 18 lb. bird - needed a little extra cooking time for such a large bird but that is all. This is now my go-to recipe. I'll try it for a chicken next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This is my first time ever making a turkey and I am 60years old...we always had potluck and someone always made turkey. So I was given a turkey and I found this fabulous recipe and I will always make it as it is so juicy and delicious. I saw a lady say she used ginger ale so I did also and I used a turkey baking bag dusted with flour inside 1 tablespoon to prevent bag bursting. Thank you to the one who gave this my first turkey recipe..I love it. God bless you. Trish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
i will be making my turkey following this recipe is my first turkey so i am very nervous yet excited cant way to see how it turns out will update when done =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I don't want to waste a perfectly good bottle of champagne on a turkey, when I could be drinking it while the turkey is cooking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
With the exceptions of ising a roasting bag instead of foil & using a cut lemon instead of lemon pepper, I have used this recipe for years. My turkey is not just moist, it is juicy & remains so for the duration of any leftovers. I still use whatever is leftover in my turkey gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This will lead to a dried out turkey. Turkey dries when the internal temperature reaches over 150 degrees. I would suggest taking it out at 145 degrees and letting it rest - otherwise, horribly dry turkey and the need for gravy. Let it rest for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This is a terrific recipe- I would add more step- before cooking, I always brine the turkey -Frozen or not, it comes out really yummy-here's what I do- in a bucket I put one can of orange juice concentrate, 1/3 cup of coarse pickling or kosher salt, 1/3 cup brown sugar and enough water to cover most of the turkey.If you have the space, put this into a cold space, a fridge is best if it has room for about 12 hours before cooking. Then do the recipe as suggested adding 10 garlic cloves into the cavity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Made this turkey recipe many times!! Turned out wonderful- juicy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States