Juicy Peach Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This was an awesome peach crisp. I added just a little more cinnamon and replaced 1/2 of the flour with a 1/2 C oatmeal. My boyfriend said it was the best thing I have ever made for him. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marraine K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, Maine, USA
Living In: Newton Centre, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I LOVED this recipe. (TIP: boil a pot of water and stick the peaches in for about 20 seconds. The skins will peal right off.) this peach crisp recipe is so versatile. I used a splash of vanilla and a splash of almond extract, about 8 medium sized peaches, and about 1/2 cup less sugar. To the peach mixture, I added a splash of fresh lemon juice and a tablespoon of flour because my peaches were super juicy. Awesome, I plan on making this many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyD01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This came out SOOO good. I doubled the recipe for a 9x12 inch pan with no problems. Instead of adding cinnamon, I added ground ginger because I like the combination of peaches and ginger. It was fantastic hot, and pretty great cold too. This is the kind of sugar-y streusel top "crisp" I was looking for--- not the biscuit-y kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA
Living In: Groveland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Excellent! The name is not mistaken...this recipe is super juicy. The only addition I made was about a 1/2 cup of Quaker oats to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I made the recipe as directed, but next time (and there will be a next time) I think I will cut the white sugar back a little. It was a little too sweet, but still delicious! A great way to use up fresh peaches before they go bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Absolutely fantastic! I only had 4 peaches, though, so I threw in some frozen raspberries (maybe 3/4 cup). I only used 1/2 cup of the white sugar, and I also reduced the flour to 1/2 cup and added 1/2 cup of oats instead. A HUGE hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This was exactly the kind of "crisp" recipe I was looking for! Delicious!! Per other reviews, I also used 1/2 the flour and substituted oats for the other 1/2. Will definitely make again to use up the peaches from our tree!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
My husband took one bite, then looked at me and pronounced that it was "dangerous." He didn't speak again until the bowl was licked clean. Success! I blanched the peaches to peel them, as some suggested (drop in hot water, then icy water). I used about 3/4 cup sugar rather than the full cup. I also used vanilla extract instead of almond (that's what I had), added a sprinkle of lemon juice to the fruit, and added about 1/4 tsp nutmeg to the topping. I think I might try replacing some of the flour with oats, as some suggested - I forgot until after the flour was measured. Thanks for this! Super easy, super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Very easy and very yummy. Doubled the recipe and put it in a 13 x 9 inch pan. Used my handy food processor to mix the toppings. Only a few minor variations: used vanilla extract because I didn't have any almond extract and I didn't peel the peaches. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Yummy! 5-star, except I did what a lot of others did. I replaced 1/2 cup flour with 1/2 cup rolled oats, decreased white sugar to a little over 1/2 cup and increased brown sugar to 1/2 cup. Used 3/4 teaspoon Penzey's Vietnamese cinnamon, which is really sweet. Left butter at 1/2 cup and rubbed into flour mixture with my fingers. Put my unpeeled sliced peaches in a bowl and added a little more than 1 teaspoon almond extract and 1 tablespoon cornstarch. Baked at 375 for 40 minutes. It smelled heavenly. Served hot with vanilla ice cream. Husband asked what made the topping taste "like candy." I'm glad I used the cornstarch; my peaches were pretty soft and VERY juicy. My new favorite crisp recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States