Juicy Marinated Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
for the record, piercing before cooking is ok, just don't pierce during cooking or before resting the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I have been trying several beef marinades this summer, looking for one that we liked. I can finally stop looking, this is it! I did make a few minor changes. I don't keep onion or garlic salt on hand so I used onion powder and minced garlic. I also used fresh herbs for the dried. Hubby said, "if you keep cooking like this, we'll never go out to eat again." Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I have to make a comment on a review... piercing meat prior to cooking is perfectly okay. The cooking process will seal in the juices. Do not pierce or cut meat during cooking and let meat rest for several minutes after it is cooked before cutting. Great recipe! I used fresh garlic and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia C,

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Used this marinade with flat iron steaks. Very flavourfull and tender, but way too salty. Will use garlic powder or onion powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I did try this recipe but with a lesser cut of beef and it did enhance the structure but did little to justify the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
sounds great. but my mom and i dont eat a lot of meat. i read that it was good on chicken. but what about portabella mushrooms?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I seldom marinate a quality steak but when I do, I do pierce the steak with a fork to allow the marinade to do it's work and I have never had a steak lose it's juices or dry out when poked PRIOR to cooking. And I have grilled many, many great steaks in my life. One hint: For perfect medium-rare steaks, grill for 10 minutes per inch -- 2 minutes on the first side and the remaining time on the other side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScorpioGG
Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
NEVER, EVER pierce a tender steak like a rib eye at any time before, during, or after the cooking process! There won't be a bit of natural juices left. This recipe is great for a flank steak or London broil because those steaks need help with juiciness and tenderness. I gave it three stars instead of five stars because of the advice to pierce the rib eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob in Houston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This turned out great but my steaks did not look anything like the picture lol, what did I do wrong??? jk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
To Twin Grandma: When you are tenderizing or marinating meat you always pierce the meat. Anyone that is a good cook knows this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks

See how to make a simple marinade for tender, flavorful grilled steaks.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

How to Grill Steaks

See the simple trick to grilling tender, juicy steaks every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States