Juicy Butt Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Renee 'Temple' Baker
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Great recipe. Will be adding some more ingredients and play with the recipe more. I added some worcheshire sauce and after finishing I decided it needed some spice so I dropped some hot sauce on my plate helped tremendously, next time I will be sure to drop some red chili flakes in the dish as well. However it was a winner in the house. I also blended the rest of the sauce so it was nice and creamy and I baked this instead of leaving it on the stove top. 350° for approximately 2hrs and turned out great. Nice and tender falling off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This was wonderful! I found two pork butt steaks in my freezer and looked about for recipes and tried this one. I'm not a big fan of cooking with ketchup, so I added about 1/2 cup of Yoshida's marinade to the ketchup and water just to give it a bit of zip. I served this with mashed potatoes, and we enjoyed very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Orovada, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Nothing fancy here yet this recipe is simple and delicious. I didn't have enough ketchup on hand so I ended up doing 1/3 ketchup and 2/3 Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce. Left it in the crock pot on low for about seven hours while I was at work and this fell right off the bone. My picky eater husband said it was "pretty good" and when it comes to a recipe with so few ingredients and so little effort, I give it two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
My husband and children absolutely LOVED this recipe! I added my own little twist on it though, I did the 3:3 ratio with the water and ketchup, but while all the steaks where in the pot I added a can of tomatoe sauce and adoboe to the liquid and brought it to a boil, stirred it and let it simmer for 4 and a half hours!!! It was so delicious and juicy and yes the meat was definitely falling off the bones!!! Yummy! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe I'll definitely be doing it again sometime soon! It went very well with double baked Mac and cheese and corn on the cob!!! As well as our favorite Garlic toast! ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I first made this when we were staying in a vacation condo and I didn't have access to my spice cabinet. I had brought the staple condiments along so I had ketchup and garlic powder on hand and, though I admit to being skeptical, this turned out SO, SO good! The ketchup transformed into a sweet, oniony tomato sauce/glaze sometime during it's journey in the skillet and was fabulous on rice and also, I discovered later, mashed potatoes. So easy, so inexpensive, so delish! I'm loving all the slow cooker hints and will definitely give it a try. Thanks for sharing Melissa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
make sure you don't boil all the juice out and we add mushrooms to cook. we also do this with pork chops and fresh pork. Very tasty and very very tender. Great recipe. Don't let the ketchup scare you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Made this last night. I was leary of the ketchup sauce but I made it as directed. My family and I absolutely loved it! I served it over rice. Next time, I will serve it over mashed potatoes. I will be cooking this again for sure. I used 6 pork shoulder steaks and cooked them for 3 1/2 hrs. Tender and fell right off the bone! Loved it! These steaks are also cheap, fit right into my shopping budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Tonight is the third time I've made this and it is fantastic! I tried it once with bbq sauce as other reviewers did, but it just didn't have the same flavor I loved from the ketchup. Although it was still super tender. This time I had the whole boston butt roast, it was just over 3 lbs. I sliced 4 pieces about an inch to an inch and a half thick and cooked as directed. I had about half the roast left so that went into the freezer for next time since there is only two of us and my three year old who devoured her meat before anything else on her plate, which is very rare. I was also quite generous with the garlic powder. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoAnna
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Cooked it today made some additions and my family love's it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I'm planning on fixin this for my DH for Sunday dinner, Think I'll try it over egg noodles, green bean and fix cheddar biscuits. I usually have a at least 3-4 dinners a month from "found on web" recipes. I do LOVE to cook. Wish me luck.! god bless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States