Judy's Strawberry Pretzel Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This is always a hit! Tips I live by to make this turn out every time. 1) DON'T bake the pretzel layer any longer than 10 minutes. 2) Double the amount of jello to make it proportional to the amount of cream cheese. 3) Let the jello chill to thicken slightly before spreading on the cream cheese layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I have made this a few times now with perfect results. I read the reviews prior to making it and found it extremely helpful to do the following: 1) instead of using 2 cups of water, use 1 cup of boiling water to dissolve the package of gelatin, then add 3/4 cup strawberry juice/syrup, and then add the strawberries; and 2)put the gelatin/strawberry mixture in the fridge for about an hour or so to thicken a bit before pouring it overtop of the cream cheese mixture (this is very key for the success of the dessert). I really think these changes helped to enhance the texture and flavor of the gelatin layer. I highly recommend trying this. I have taken it to two dinner parties now and cannot tell you how many compliments I received, my friends were thoroughly impressed. Thanks for the fantastic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
795 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This was really good! I added some vanilla (1/2 tsp) to the cream cheese layer. I also think the crust should be a bit sweeter- I will try it with white and brown sugar next time. As other readers have warned, this crust will turn to CEMENT if you cook it too long. Take it out after 10 minutes even if you don't think it's cooked. It will get hard as it sits! Roll the side of a drinking glass over the crust in the pan- it makes an easy job of pressing it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
439 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This is definitely a 5 star recipe that has been around for years. If it was not offered during my family's Thanksgiving and Christmas holiday they would protest in rebellion! Only recommendation I would make is to use butter gold pretzels as this enhances the flavor. PLEASE NOTE: This is NOT a recipe that keeps for days... it needs to be eaten within the first 48 hours as the pretzel crust breaks down and softens and it just does not do it justice - Hands down to the crunch in this salad, it's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
300 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
Delicious! This a a great dessert! Two suggestions: 1) do not bake the crust any longer than the 10 minutes called for, even if you are adding extra pretzels, butter and sugar to the crust. If the butter/sugar mixture gets too hot it will turn to cement and a chisel will be required for removing it from the dish- I found out the hard way and 2) when choosing your strawberries take note of the amount of juice they are sitting in and reduce the two cups of water by that amount. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
I have been making this for at least 15 years and everyone fights over it. They want to get their share. My recipe differs a little. It calls for 2 cups pretzels, marg. instead of butter and 3 tsp.( I use heaping tsps.) sug. for crust. For cheese middle it is the same only it calls for 1- 8 oz cream cheese instead of 2. Top layer is 2 small pkgs. jello,water the same,but use 2-10 oz. cartons frozen strawberries. I like Birdseye brand in syrup. If berries are whole, I chop them up. It really needs to chill several hours. This is my most requested jello recipe ever! It really is like a dessert! When I first made it, no one could figure out what the bottom was made of! You really must try. Thanks Tom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
I've made this several times for work potlucks. I would make it the night before and it always turned out beautifully (it's a big hit!). Once I made it during an afternoon for dinner that night and the pretzel crust was much too hard. I think the trick is letting it sit overnight long enough for the crust to soften. It's definitely my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This was indeed quite good. I made it precisely as the directions say, including all frozen strawberries, juice and a full 2 cups of water, and the jello was perfect. I ONLY baked for 10 minutes as everyone suggested and I did let the jello/strawberries sit for an hour in the frig first. Even then they still seemed to pour onto the cream cheese layer fairly liquidy so I worried that it wouldn't gel but it did set up perfectly. The jello did not seep into the cream cheese. The pretzel crust certainly does get more mushy the longer it's in your frig after making so if you can eat all of this in 1-3 days, that's preferable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I made this for thanksgiving and it was one of the first dishes to go. The only change I made was I used frozen sliced strawberries (2 tubs) so the strawberry chunks weren't so big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
Loved this! Baked my crust a little longer so it would be good and crispy. The first time I made this, I didn't take the time to let the gelatin/strawberry mixture partially "gel" and it ran into the pretzels and made them soggy almost immediately. Second time, I let it "gel" a bit and it turned out picture perfectly. The crust was still crunchy on the 2nd day...not so good on the 3rd...but still. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 965) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States