Judy's Strawberry Pretzel Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Great recipe! I did lighten it up a bit by using sugar free jello, light cool whip and light cream cheese. And 1/2 cup butter is plenty also. Ive made it both ways and my family couldn't tell the difference. The person who gave it only one star and called it a "heart attack waiting to happen" is completely wrong and should stick to eating celery sticks if they cant eat something in normal proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
It was very good. I actually used graham crumbs instead of pretzels because I didn't want the salt from the pretzels. I also added 1 tsp of cinnamon to the graham crumbs for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This was the best strawberry pretzel recipe I have ever had and family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DixieHeart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
made cupcake style... what a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Evans, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
The freezer is your friend with this recipe. It makes this recipe fast and fool proof. I read most of the top reviews for this recipe and incorporated the best advice to knock this out of the park. 1st, I used two cups of crushed pretzels but didn't crush them down to total dust -- mostly just little nubby bits. Put 4tbspns sugar & 2 tbspns brown. Used Parkay instead of butter. Spread evenly in a 9x13 (was hard but I worked at it and got it done). Baked for only 8 minutes and let it rest on the counter until cooled. PERFECTION. Next I added vanilla to the cream cheese layer and popped it in the freezer for about 30 minutes. I made sure my cream cheese was spread to the edges and in the corners to seal the crust in. I followed another revewer's suggestion to use one cup boiling water and one cup strawberry juice (drained from tub of strawberries). I didn't get quite a full cup of juice from the first 10oz tub so I filled remaining 1/4 cup with with boiling water. Then I dumped in all of TWO 10oz tubs frozen strawberries. I put the mixture into the freezer for about 40 minutes until it was setting up but still fluid. I spread that onto the cream cheese layer (which was resting in the fridge) and put all of it back in the freezer for about 20 minutes at which point it was DONE. Not a drop of red bled into my cream cheese layer or crust. It was a thing of beauty. Crust was nice and chewy/crisp. Just as good next day too. Guests devoured so I'm making again this week for just us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
This was a huge hit. Everyone wants the recipe. To save fat I used Neufchatel cream cheese. Never has been a problem. I tried to use fresh strawberries, but it came out a little watery. I think one reviewer suggested less water in the jello which seems like a must. Also, It is never suggested to smooth the cream cheese to all edges so the jello does not seep to the crust. My second time I messed up with it that way by having one little spot it seeped through. Okay, reviewing has helped me to see how to get it right. It tastes awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
We loved this! DH broke his 'diet' for three servings. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
yes this recipe is for sure a keeper. Its great for a dessert, and a salad. I get great comments when I make it. I double the crust mix, and add a smidge less water to the jello. Also, do not pour the unset jello over top of the pretzels!!! It will not be a nice layered look. Wait till it sets about half way in the fridge. I add any kind of fruit available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Fantabulous! The only change is that next time, I'll check to see if the frozen strawberries I buy are cut. I opened the bag to pour on the strawberries and they were whole so it didn't look very pretty. Might try raspberries and raspberry jello next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aloha, Oregon, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Loved everything about this except the jello BUT i'm not a jello fan so that might not be entirely fair. It did seem to go over well with everyone else though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinklady

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 965) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States