Judy's Strawberry Pretzel Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This dessert is a winner. I did make a few adjustments. I used brown sugar instead of white sugar, whick made for a very tasty crust. I would advise using more pretzel ingredients if you like a thicker crust...I did. I also added a little vanilla to the cream cheese mixture and agave nectar instead of white sugar...delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This was great!! I followed others advice to let the jello set up some and I had no problem with it seeping into the cream cheese layer- it actually kinda seemed to slip off the cream cheese layer when I cut it but it didn't matter, taste definitely ruled over that problem. I also used fresh strawberries and light cream cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLBELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libby, Montana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
You need to add 1/2 cup chopped pecans to the pretzels. Can't beat toasted pecans & pretzels together. I've seen other versions that have the pecans. However I tried it has written and it was very good, but would be even better with the pecans. Also needed more strawberries in the topping. Still, of course it is more of a dessert than a salad. It's become our favorite for 4th of July.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Very easy to make & pleasant to eat in the hot summer months. Pulsed pretzels in food processor so they mere not overly ground. Subbed Splenda for sugar in crust & cream cheese mix. Cooked crust 10 minutes then let it cool in fridge. Spread cream cheese mix on cooled crust, then stuck back in fridge. Made fruit topping with sugar free Jello & previously frozen fresh strawberries I had on hand. Let fruit topping cool in fridge for one hour, then spread over crust with cream cheese layer & kept chilled until serving. Hubs had three helpings, so that is my affirmation that it is a keeper recipe. Thanks Tom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Hit at 4th of July party 7/4/2013 Made again 8/4/2013 with red raspberry WONDERFUL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elinor3
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I used a 10" springform pan. I used only 1/2 cup of butter in the crust and found the butter didn't seep out the bottom as other reviewers experienced. My only downfall was since I used frozen strawberries, it cooled the gelatin faster than I expected and 15 minutes in the frig was way too long. So I had to slightly "melt" the gelatin on the stove before topping the cream layer. Other than that, it turned out pretty darn yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This is a great dessert! Very good on a hot day. I always make during the the summer months. I do cool the jello a bit before adding this to the last layer so it doesn't sink into the white cream cheese and cool whip. It does get eaten over any other jello dessert where ever I take it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I had this at a birthday party a few years ago and have been looking for the recipe ever since! I am so happy to have found this!!!! I absolutely LOVE this dessert...yes dessert NOT salad! I did do a few minor changes but nothing drastic, I added vanilla to the cream cheese mixture, and only added 3T of sugar to the pretzel crust mix. I also put the jell-o mix in the fridge to 'set' a little before pouring on top of the cream cheese. I think this helps it not to 'run' down over the pretzel on the side of the pan, who wants a soggy crust?!?! All in all great dessert!! A very must for a July 4th BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thompsonsbj08
Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This is a family favorite that is a "must have" at every holiday! Before my mother-in-law passed away she wrote down this recipe and every time I make it, I think of her. Coincidentally, her name was Judy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Oh my goodness this was delicious. I brought it to a potluck as a dessert and everyone loved it. I followed the directions almost to a T. The only thing I did differently was after stirring in the berries and allowed them to thaw a bit, I used kitchen scissors to snip them into smaller uniform sized pieces for more even distribution. I used a greased glass pan and was a bit worried when I pulled the baked crust out of the oven and it was sliding around the pan. Although I was tempted to bake it longer I followed other reviewers' advice and left it as it was. I'm so glad I did because after it cooled it set up very nicely. I love this recipe because I can make it even when strawberries aren't in season because the recipe calls for frozen. I ate it the next day and like it even better because the crust softened a bit and all the flavors were able to marry. Will make this again and again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 966) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States