Judy's Strawberry Pretzel Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SLCPaladin
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I'm only giving this recipe 4 stars because the recipe, as stated, is way too much like a dessert and not really a side dish at all. In addition, it's super unhealthy and loaded with sugar. However, I have made this 4 times now tweaking it each time and I think I've finally figured out how to make a HEALTHY version! Here's what I do: 1) I cut the sugar down by 1/2 in the crust - you won't even notice it's gone 2) I use 1/3 fat cream cheese (often called Neufchatel)- don't use fat free, that stuff is gross! 3) instead of whipped topping, I use 8 oz. Chobani or Fage plain Greek yogurt - no sugar and adds protein while still keeping it thick and creamy 4) I use 1/2 the sugar in the cream cheese mixture as well - it's plenty sweet but more creamy 5) Lastly, I buy Knox gelatin and mix 3/4 package raspberry Jello with a single 1 oz Knox gelatin- this effectively "cuts" the sugar while still keeping the nice gelatin consistency. The end result is still amazingly delicious and WAY more healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLCPaladin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Wow! This hits all the flavor corners for a delicious dessert. Salty. Sweet. Tangy. Check, check and double check. This is now my go-to dessert for potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I found the salt stole the sweet and the cream cheese was too heavy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ted Redsky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This was a huge hit with the family, delicious and easy as is, with the exception of doubling the amount of jello. As another reviewer indicated, do not bake the crust more than 10 minutes and remember to let your jello chill a bit before adding it to the cream cheese mixture. This will become a holiday staple at our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
the jello did not stay on the top,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Good.. but I listened to too many reviews and changed it. I think I ruined it by doing that. I doubled the jello portion and the crust and it was just too much. I will try again and just make it the way the recipe says to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I love this recipe when my Aunt makes it. As for me, I have not had it work 2 years in a row. I seem to get more juice than strawberries in the frozen ones and I used 1/2 the water to compensate and it still didn't work. I think I may give up. I am not so sure it is the recipe because it works for others. I love the taste, even with soupy strawberry topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Centralia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I have made this many, many times over the years and it has always been a big hit. It is such a pretty dessert for the holiday's. Make it in a clear glass dish and it will show the colors. Easy, pretty, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This desert is amazing, i love the sweet and salty mix. Kids like it also, its a light desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Outstanding. Love this recipe with a thicker cream cheese layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 980) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States