Juanita's Blackberry Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SIZZLN
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
It reminded me of my Grand Father's. He died when I was 12 and I was too young to know I should ask for the recipe. No one in the family knew how and I've been wanting them for over 39 years. I decided to try this today and it bought back childhood memories. I now know why I clean as I cook because my grand dad did and he would fuss at my grand mother to get out of the kitchen while he was cooking because she was a messy cooker, dishes in the sink and on the counters. He would wash and I would dry. He was a GREAT cook! My dumplings were too long so I will shorten next time and I will use less sugar too sweet for me now that I've cut it out of my daily diet. Overall, EXCELLENT, simple and easy to follow recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Can''t wait to make these for my little one! I'm hoping these are something like the ones my I enjoyed made by both of my grandmothers when I was a child. (It's apparently not just a regional recipe as both of my grandmas were from eastern ky and one of them probably never traveled out of state in her life :) )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I am from Indiana. My mother made this blackberry and dumplings every year during blackberry season. This is a very good receipt.I am glad to find this. I didn't know how mother made hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I was thoroughly disappointed with the outcome, especially since the recipe had been rated so highly. I heeded the advice of others and only used 1 cup of sugar, which was sufficient. I added a little lemon juice and a pinch of nutmeg to the berries. I also added 2 tablespoons of corn starch, because the berries never thickened. The dumplings call for no leavening agent and they tasted doughy and never quite done, although I covered and cooked them an extra 10 mins. I think I’ll pick them out and try some Bisquick dumplings to try to save the dish. Will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Just like a recipe my grandmother used to make. The only difference is she would put her berries in a little water and simmer them for the juice. Then she would strain the berries through cloth and squeeze out every bit of juice. Then she would add a little more water to the juice, sugar and bring it to a boil. Once boiling well, she would drop the dumplings in (they were 3 to 4 inch strips) and cook until the dumplings were done. Served in a bowl with homemade ice cream. We are from N. Florida! Tons of wild blackberries here. Thanks for the recipe. Takes me back to time spent in a farm kitchen as a small child with my grandmother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meesah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Live Oak, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Cinnamon is a great addition to the blackberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Love this recipe, it's like jumping back to Grandma's house on the Holidays in the 60's. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Very good! I used 2 cups blackberrys,1 cup figs,1/2cup rasberries and 1/2 cup halved strawberries, i used whole wheat flour yum .!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shnurp

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Wonderful to find this! A dear family friend whose roots were in Eastern KY coal mining country, made these for my sons 40 plus years ago. Great recipe for a quick dessert. Any fruit could be used, but blackberries that we had and have plenty of in W. TN, are best. Mrs. Powell made without egg or cinnamon. Yummm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
this is just what I have been looking for over the past 15 yrs.These are what my granny made.Ihad got the berries right but never got her dumpling stripes right. These are it!!!! Yeah,my granny was from Missouri and Illinois Area too. When the one review here said heavy dumpling I knew I had found the right one. The dumpling are like a cross between the pie dough and biscuits type dumplings which is what my granny's was likeso I'm so happy to have found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John’s Peach Blackberry Flognarde

A fruity baked dessert with a funny name and a secret savory surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States