J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Awesome amazing :-) only change is that I used butter flavored Crisco, fluffy and perfect crunch on outside, used cooks Crisco and child milk and a slightly hotter oven as suggested by a lady on here, perfect and simple :-) :-) :-) :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Wow! Definitely the best biscuit recipe I have found EVER! And I've tried quite a few in the past! One tip I would have that really makes it easier is grating the butter (yes, I used butter as well) into the flour! It is so much easier to work with and really worked well. Delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Made these biscuits a couple of times, now. 1 time with shortening, 1 time with butter, didn't knead either time, just folding over & patting the dough out. The best so far was the butter and just one fold. Both times, the recipe rested in the fridge for 6-12 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This is the best recipe for biscuits ever! And they are very easy. My mom has been making these for about seven years. I can defiantly say that I have "grown up" with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Excellent biscuits. I used 1 stick (1/2 cup) butter because I don't buy shortening. I also added 1tbs. lemon juice to my milk, for a buttermilk tang. I always let the dough sit in the fridge for a few hours before baking and make sure to handle the dough as little as possible. I also grate the cold butter into the flour mixture instead of cutting it, this gives it a yummy crumbly result. Thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha A. Estremera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I didn't even try that hard, and it came out good. I added too much milk (I was impatient), but I had a silpat and did not have to worry about it sticking. So I plopped the dough/batter onto the pan, and it came out fine (though perhaps not as much rise). I cut the biscuit into squares and served it with Bill's sausage gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Very good! I didn't have shortening, so used half a stick of butter instead..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I thought this was an easy yummy biscuit recipe. I used milk with a tablespoon of vinegar in it, comes close to buttermilk that way. This is the biscuit recipe for someone who is a novice, very hard to go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
LOVE making these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Super Easy to make and Oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bethel, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 2,652) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States