J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Super Easy to make and Oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bethel, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Wouldn't change a thing. Rolled out the dough to 1" as instructed, but used a big cup to make fat 5" wide biscuits of perfect flavor and texture. A bit dry at the edges, soft and dense in the middle. A simple, classic recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I finally found a biscuit recipe worth my time.... Thanks for sharing. I did substitute margarine in place of the shortening and I did not knead the dough. Given my previous experience with baking I decided it would only make them more dense to knead the dough. Also the margarine adds to the flavor. Thanks again for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I woke hungry for biscuits this morning. It's Sunday morning, wanted to fix a big breakfast for the family... Thought I'd try this recipe today and found it a tad bit disappointing. Yes they raise up nicely, look ok but taste was bland and dry. I would not try this recipe again, it's missing that "something" to make it a great biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
OH YUM! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. My husband is on a restricted sodium diet and I’ve been searching FOR MONTHS for a good, low sodium biscuit! This is it! Here’s what I did: to the 2 C. flour and 1 T. sugar I used 2 t. low sodium baking powder (I’m going to purchase no sodium baking powder next!), ½ t. no sodium baking soda, ¼ t. salt, 4 T. buttermilk powder, substituted water for the milk and used cold, unsalted butter instead of shortening. I figured that with the yield of 6 biscuits, each one has approximately 261 mg. of sodium. I didn’t really knead the dough either – just sort of patted it together on a floured counter, using flour as needed so the dough wouldn’t stick. Don’t know why I didn’t think of this before…take a good basic biscuit recipe and simply reduce the salt, etc.! Simply GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I substituted Oil instead of Shortening and I enjoyed the outcome taste and look much better! I loved making these fun tasty biscuits and I will make them again soon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Love these biscuits. They're perfect for biscuits and gravy mornings and they get so big! Remember, it's important to mix/knead them as little as possible otherwise they won't get fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bitter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
First time I'm making Biscuits in a good 20 years and this recipe is a true pleasure. Simple yet excellent! And they came out soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was the best biscuit recipe I've found so far, and I've tried plenty, trust me. I mixed the dough and let it rest in the fridge, and while I did knead the dough some, I may follow the advice of others and not knead it at all. UPDATE: Made these this morning and didn't knead the dough; they came out light and fluffy. I'm going to try buttermilk next time. I found that just pressing the dough down with my palms instead of rolling makes for thicker biscuits. I'm upping this to five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Great recipe. I did throw my own spin on it. I added a stick of melted butter and one egg. You will have to take away from the amount of milk needed. It makes a great biscuit for homemade sausage gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 2,633) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States