J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I had to make some modifications since I have to bake them with gluten free flour. I added 1 tsp of baking soda, 1 egg, 1 tsp xantham gum and reduced the milk to 2/3 cups. Perfect texture and taste. That does not always work if you change to a GF version of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I use the recipe every time I make biscuits. It never fails. . They are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
The quantities are wrong!! 1 cup of milk should be a half cup. The dough was a batter! What the heck? DISAPPOINTED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I love soft biscuits, and these were perfect. I did not knead the dough as much because I was afraid it would make them dense. Next time I will try making the dough ahead to see if it makes them even taller. These had a very fresh taste and light texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Not much flavor and they were tough. I mixed according to recipe. I prefer light and fluffy biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Best biscuit recipe I've ever tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This was a great recipe. I've tried many recipes for big and fluffy biscuits, only for them to look like a flat hockey puck. This one is great. The first time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly. The second time, I used some other reviewers tips and substituted butter for the shortening and it gave the biscuits more flavor. More salt would be ok too, if you like. Also, don't pour the whole cup of milk in, it will be too much. Do like the recipe says and pour a little at a time. I'd say I used 3/4 cup of milk total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
These turned out to be delicious ...SCONES for me!! Will try again and again and again, even if they do turn out as scones, because I love them too! Thank you John! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Really good for "light" and big. I think I might use this for shortcakes for strawberries in the future. They come out slightly too light for sausage (meat) and gravy. Just personal/I just like a fuller body texture for sandwich use or gravy dishes. Biscuits or so basic that very slight ingredient variance can mean big change in results. Next time I will add a little more flour for my altitude/7000'. I just guessed with the first batch. Great dessert biscuit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I have been making these biscuits for several years. Sometimes with 50% whole wheat. I usually use butter instead of shortening (hope to try with coconut oil soon. I use for top of a pot pie also. Let sit for 30 hour after rolling out and cutting before baking- you will get a better dough and higher rise. Good with sausage gravy to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 2,851) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States