J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
These are really good and definitely more for breakfast than dinner. Make sure you make them thick enough when ccutting them from the dough. I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
So simple and so delicious! Reminds me of the biscuits my southern grandmother made! I used butter instead of shortening but other than that kept the recipe the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I have made this recipe 10 times now and every time they are perfect! Sometimes I use almond milk and sometimes cow milk and either work just fine. I think the trick is to not over-knead them. I mix in the milk until it is incorporated and that's it. Then I let it sit for a few minutes (it seems to make them rise better), and just drop little balls on a cookie sheet (it's faster than rolling them out). These freeze very well too. We just love love love these biscuits!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Hatton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Perfect...just perfect! Everyone loved them and they disappeared too soon. Used butter in them and they were wonderfully rich! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
loved this recipe but i did substitute the all purpose flour for bread flour and they came out so fluffy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
These biscuits are really great.The recipe is very simple and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by byGilles

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I've been baking for 35 years and this is by far the best biscuit recipe I've ever tried. I married someone from Kansas and he's a big critic when it comes to good biscuits so when he couldn't stop eating them, I knew I had a winner. I followed the recipe exactly how it states and they came out better than I expected. Definitely going into my family recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
A Wonderful recipe, I don't give out a lot of 5s so don't feel bad it was great. I wonder what this would be like with buttermilk?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamNinja

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Very good! I don't knead them, I pat them out, then fold them 2 or 3 times, and repeat this 2 times. Creates nice, flaky layers. I got 8 huge, fluffy, delicious biscuits. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
These biscuits are soft, but I thought it was a bit bland. I prefer biscuits made with butter so the flavor is richer. I would recommend swapping the shortening with salted butter for better flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 2,670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States