J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
These were great - especially with strawberry jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vburrito

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I make these biscuits at least once a week. I do have to say this, I add an additional cup of flour. They were soup after I added the milk but after adding the additional flour they are perfect. My husband raves about them every time I make them. Sometimes I use butter flavored Crisco instead of the regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Absolutely perfect. Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This is one of the best recipes yet for biscuits. Just be sure and not over work is the biggest secret of all. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I have been trying different non yeast biscuit recipes from allrecipes for months; probably 15 in all. These are my favorite so far; moist, flavorful, and very easy to make. I used evaporated milk, doubled the recipe and had 14 perfect large biscuits. I only kneaded 3 times, then patted down. I have learned that the less you handle the dough, the better the biscuit with non yeast recipes. In fact, I do not think you need to knead this dough at all. I live in the South and have been told that the secret to great biscuits is the flour and many Southerners only make biscuits with flour from Booneville Flour and Feed Mill in NC-I am going to order some flour from them and try this again. Also someone made grits on a chef contest show (Top Chef or one of those) and the judges raved about the grits and they were from Booneville Flour and Feed also. I am finally going to try those products. I love Allrecipes and have made some wonderful meals from this site. I especially love to put in the 3 ingredients I have in my frig and chooose out of the recipes that come up; a great way to stretch the dollar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
OMG!!! I can make biscuits!! So easy, the dough is magnificent, and please do not mention how fabulous the biscuits tasted! My husband and friends LOVED these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Kath

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Hands down the BEST biscuits I've ever made. I'll definitely be experimenting with different flavors :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This recipe is ok. Not the way I like them. The ingredients need to be tweaked a lot for this to be better. I personally don't wish to. If you like these then that's fine. I have been experimenting with biscuit recipes and didn't really like this one and wont make it again. I like the other one I made a lot better. I also think using shortening is a mistake. Cold butter is better. Not enough baking powder. A few other things. Sorry this just didn't meet my expectations. Not horrible but not good either. I didn't have problems with these being too hard or anything. The recipe did come out like biscuits should I just didn't like the taste and some consistency. If these were too hard or too soft you did something wrong. 15 minutes is too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Perfect no fail recipe. I make these all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spectralite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pismo Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Let me add my Thank You to the chorus of happy JP's Big Daddy Biscuit eaters. I only tried biscuits one other time with not much success but this time my biscuits tasted good and melted in our mouths, just like biscuits. I want to say like my Grandma used to make, but perhaps that would be a bit arrogant :). At any rate, the biscuits took very little time and are tender and very tasty. I took the advice of some other reviewers and did not knead mine, per se -- folded the dough on itself about 3 or 4 times is all and then patted it out. I used buttermilk (the 2T vinegar to a cup of milk method). I will definitely make these again and again. And thank you very much for sharing your great recipe, J. P.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggieroze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 2,574) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States