J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Holy ravioli! This is so good it's unbelievable, never going to kfc for biscuits again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I love this recipe! I have made it a number of times and they always turn out well. I never use shortening, substituting cold butter instead. My other variations are to substitute 3/4 cup of the milk with yogurt, which allows me to use a little less of the butter. I add a little extra milk if needed for the dough to come together. The biscuits with yogurt are light and moist - delicious! I have also made this recipe with almond milk, giving a lovely, nutty richness to the biscuits. This is a can't-miss recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I love to cook but have never been able to master biscuits (even growing up with grandma making biscuits daily and a wonderful wife that makes great biscuits). I gave these a try tonight and I have to say they were very tasty. The only changes I made to recipe was I used buttermilk and self rising flour. Very pleased with recipe and the video instructions were great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I loved this recipe! Although I hate shortening, I just equally replaced the shortening for butter and to lower sodium I omitted the salt. They came out big and tender,served them with a good hardy beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnatus, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I really liked this recipe, will use it again....very easy to make... I do not knead the dough though.. I pat it out and cut in squares so I just cut once, let sit for 15 minutes before cooking... I did take 15 minutes for these to cook...I got 10 bicuits out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Use this one every time I make biscuits!!! Simple and taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Best biscuit recipe out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This has become a staple add on for homemade soup days. We use cookie cutters and make shaped biscuits though. No ordinary circles in our house! ;-) takes 5 min to make, they're in the oven in about 7 minutes. Can't beat that! Sometimes I throw different herbs in too. Tops are great with a little water brushed on and coarse salt sprinkled. Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
These came out very nice and taste delicious with gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
These biscuits were very easy to make and turned out wonderfully! They were fluffy and soft inside. I took others' advice and mixed and kneaded the dough as minimally as possible. I quadrupled the recipe for a large family breakfast and only needed 3 cups of milk. We used them for sausage gravy but also ate some with homemade jam and they were fantastic! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 2,631) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States