J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I just made this and the recipe came out fantastic. OF COURSE, I made changes. I used lard and the milk was 2/3 milk with 1/3 half and half. I barely kneaded the dough and cut it into squares so there would be no waste and no need to be concerned with over kneading. I ate one while it was piping hot with organic butter. I loved it. This is now my go-to recipe for biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Lights out. My first time making biscuits and I wouldn't change a thing. I only had butter on hand so that's what I used instead of shortening. I also watched the video and that was helpful. Awesome biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinNik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe except used margarine instead of shortening. I also mixed the ingredients using my mixer with the dough hooks. Texture was great and after 4 days they were still as soft as the first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Absolute favourite recipe! Fluffy and deelish! Can add raisins, or grated cheese....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elmwych
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
These turned out great. It really help to leave them in the fridge for a couple if hors before baking them off. I'm jus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
It's tastes great i love the flavor!!!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
THE FLAVOR WAS GOOD BUT, THEY DIDN'T RISE MUCH. I MADE SURE I DIDN'T TWIST AS I CUT THEM OUT PER OTHER REVIEWS. STILL LOOKING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Good when short on time and ingredients. I sift my flour, salt and baking powder together so its well incorporated. Great for stews or gravy. I also used margarine rather than shortening since that's what I had. I don't bother cutting round ones, just pat out the dough and cut squares with a sharp knife. No left over dough or over-worked dough that way so always tender!! Great and simple baking powder biscuits when I don't have stuff for my buttermilk recipe. Wonderful when teaching an 8yr old how to bake! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Incredible!! Like some others, I swapped butter for the shortening and used 1/2 cup of wheat flour...but man-o-man these are tasty and fluffy with just a touch of crisp on the outside as you bite in! DO only use as much milk as needed (I ended up with a few tablespoons left over) DO NOT mess with the dough too much -- that will ruin even the best recipe! Thank you John for a wonderful recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Very good basic biscuit recipe. I stepped it up a notch to suit my families taste buds. I melted a few tbsp butter, stirred in some garlic salt and added 1 clove chopped garlic. After one puts their own personal tasty touch to it enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 2,720) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States