J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I've been making this recipe for years! Just realized i never gave it a rating... def a keeper, and my "go to" on sunday mornings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RheyganD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Easy, fast and good. I didn't knead it at all, just mixed until it came together, shaped them by hand then baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Great biscuits, very comparable to my southern mother in laws cat head biscuits. I really like that they do not require buttermilk, which I rarely have in my fridge. Will definitely keep this recipe on hand. I'm sure I will use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Beautiful biscuits. I live at high altitude (5000 ft.) so I am used to making adjustments. If anyone lives at high altitude the only adjustment needed for this recipe is to substitute bread flour for the AP flour. Left everything else the same and they came out perfect. They also freeze well. I make sausage biscuits ahead of time with these so my hubby can pop one in the microwave before work in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
These biscuits are the BEST... with some minor alterations lol ;) I replace the shortening with COLD butter,the milk with either buttermilk or evaporated milk, and DO NOT KNEAD THE DOUGH. Just lightly pat it into a square shape, and cut out SQUARE biscuits, thus eliminating having to reroll and getting a tough batch. The least amount of handling, the better. Thank you SO much for sharing this recipe, JP! It's a family favorite around here, and a frequent flier on our menu :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YoMama2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
OK, Just tried this recipe and it was awesome. I love cooking from scratch and my husband is one of those "but it is so much easier to just buy storebought".......Needless to say, he now loves my biscuits and gravy.... followed the recipe to a T and only had to change the baking time...due to the region and time of year. Awesome!!! Thanks JP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
HUGE HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer.Harrison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marinwood, California, USA
Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Delicious and so easy! I use butter instead of shortening. The biscuits are flaky and buttery and have a nice moist texture. Love them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*Dawn*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I've tried substituting butter for the shortening, but they just didn't turn out right. Stick with butter flavored shortening and these are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Montana, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 2,655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States