J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
OK, Just tried this recipe and it was awesome. I love cooking from scratch and my husband is one of those "but it is so much easier to just buy storebought".......Needless to say, he now loves my biscuits and gravy.... followed the recipe to a T and only had to change the baking time...due to the region and time of year. Awesome!!! Thanks JP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
HUGE HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer.Harrison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marinwood, California, USA
Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Delicious and so easy! I use butter instead of shortening. The biscuits are flaky and buttery and have a nice moist texture. Love them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*Dawn*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I've tried substituting butter for the shortening, but they just didn't turn out right. Stick with butter flavored shortening and these are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Montana, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I just made this recipe and they tasted delicious! We only use wheat flour and non-dairy milk. they worked out just fine! My husband was very impressed. I followed the tip from CookieClaire. I only added the amount of milk I needed. Until the dough left the sides of the bowl. I did not knead 14-15 times. I did knead maybe 3-5 times until everything looked well incorporated. Cut these bad boys into circles and baked until nice and golden. They taste wonderful! Remember people...follow instructions but it takes some knowledge about cooking as well. It's all trial and error. God Bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalKiara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Great recipe! Simple to make. I substitute white sugar with brown sugar and use butter instead of shortening. Just take it easy on kneading to have a soft biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
SO AMAZING! My husband loves, and i mean LOVES these. Typically he prefers those biscuits in the can and I honestly really don't care for them. He is sooo picky and I've tried several home made biscuit recipes that he has not liked. After making these biscuits he said that he preferred these over those gross can ones which was MUSIC TO MY EARS! I will definitely be making these at least twice a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Was even able to make these gluten free and they still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
FANTASTIC! I am not a good biscuit maker. Mine usually come out too hard, too dry, too yucky somehow! These were moist, flaky (the good way) and sooooo very tasty! Thank you so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEROKEEGODDESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montpelier, Idaho, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Excellent recipe! I used butter and skim milk and 1/2 teaspoon of salt (instead of 1), kneaded just until the dough was smooth, and they were really good! Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 2,649) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States