J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by Kkaye76
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
These are AWESOME!! I didnt kneed as much as he says.. just bout 6 or 7 turns... Oh MY WORD! They raised up big & fluffy, lots of layers of awesomeness! Best recipe for biscuits I've ever seen! Thanks JP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Quick and super simple- didn't change a thing! Biscuits are perfect just the way they are! I ate them with a spicy/sweet sausage gravy, and also with butter and honey- delicious either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by miranda
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Yummm! My son ate 4 (the recipe made 6) new family fave! I used butter instead of shortening and patted into rectangle cut length wise down the middle then crosswise to make 6 square biscuits- great for sanwich this way:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Basic recipe. Changes that worked for me: 1/2 cup of softened BUTTER!!!, BUTTERMILK!!, Self Rising flour plus 1 teaspoon baking powder, 450 degrees (thermometer read), NO KNEADING, just get everything wet, then flour your hands and place the ball on floured countertop, hand form the dough to 3/4 to 1 inch thick (no rolling pin), cut and place biscuits on pie pan touching (I also use parchment paper). Brush tops with melted butter, Bake 11 to 14 minutes. check at 11 minutes. If not brown on top, turn your oven to high broil and toast for about 90 seconds. Fluffy, YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I've been making this recipe for years! Just realized i never gave it a rating... def a keeper, and my "go to" on sunday mornings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RheyganD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Easy, fast and good. I didn't knead it at all, just mixed until it came together, shaped them by hand then baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Great biscuits, very comparable to my southern mother in laws cat head biscuits. I really like that they do not require buttermilk, which I rarely have in my fridge. Will definitely keep this recipe on hand. I'm sure I will use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Beautiful biscuits. I live at high altitude (5000 ft.) so I am used to making adjustments. If anyone lives at high altitude the only adjustment needed for this recipe is to substitute bread flour for the AP flour. Left everything else the same and they came out perfect. They also freeze well. I make sausage biscuits ahead of time with these so my hubby can pop one in the microwave before work in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
These biscuits are the BEST... with some minor alterations lol ;) I replace the shortening with COLD butter,the milk with either buttermilk or evaporated milk, and DO NOT KNEAD THE DOUGH. Just lightly pat it into a square shape, and cut out SQUARE biscuits, thus eliminating having to reroll and getting a tough batch. The least amount of handling, the better. Thank you SO much for sharing this recipe, JP! It's a family favorite around here, and a frequent flier on our menu :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YoMama2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 2,649) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States