J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe except used margarine instead of shortening. I also mixed the ingredients using my mixer with the dough hooks. Texture was great and after 4 days they were still as soft as the first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Absolute favourite recipe! Fluffy and deelish! Can add raisins, or grated cheese....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elmwych
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
These turned out great. It really help to leave them in the fridge for a couple if hors before baking them off. I'm jus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
It's tastes great i love the flavor!!!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
THE FLAVOR WAS GOOD BUT, THEY DIDN'T RISE MUCH. I MADE SURE I DIDN'T TWIST AS I CUT THEM OUT PER OTHER REVIEWS. STILL LOOKING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Good when short on time and ingredients. I sift my flour, salt and baking powder together so its well incorporated. Great for stews or gravy. I also used margarine rather than shortening since that's what I had. I don't bother cutting round ones, just pat out the dough and cut squares with a sharp knife. No left over dough or over-worked dough that way so always tender!! Great and simple baking powder biscuits when I don't have stuff for my buttermilk recipe. Wonderful when teaching an 8yr old how to bake! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Incredible!! Like some others, I swapped butter for the shortening and used 1/2 cup of wheat flour...but man-o-man these are tasty and fluffy with just a touch of crisp on the outside as you bite in! DO only use as much milk as needed (I ended up with a few tablespoons left over) DO NOT mess with the dough too much -- that will ruin even the best recipe! Thank you John for a wonderful recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Very good basic biscuit recipe. I stepped it up a notch to suit my families taste buds. I melted a few tbsp butter, stirred in some garlic salt and added 1 clove chopped garlic. After one puts their own personal tasty touch to it enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This was great! One thing I did was sift the dry ingredients together, I also cooked then in a greased hot cast iron skillet. They turned out perfect. Thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Very easy to make and were delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 2,648) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States