J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This is a great biscuit recipe. The only comment I would make is regarding the video on how to make these. I don't think you should knead biscuit dough at all. Like pie pastry, kneading will make them heavier and less flaky. Simply gather the dough and press together firmly before rolling out. Also, If you have opened baking powder in your cabinet that is older than 4 months, throw it out and buy some fresh. If your biscuits are not rising as much as they should, stale baking powder is usually why. I have experimented adding some additional things to this basic recipe. Try adding a little grated cheese, or some roasted garlic, or perhaps some diced sun-dried tomatoes just before adding the milk. Also, I find they come out a little nicer flavored if you use buttermilk instead of regular milk, but they are delicious either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Similar to my biscuits but I use buttermilk and self rising flour. Do not knead the dough much at all or they will be tough. Use just enough milk so it will stick together, that way you won't need to knead much. Pour milk in a little at a time until you get consistency the way you need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Hardly knead the dough. This is the secret to a light biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
As advertised! They came out great! I am a hero at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I have tried making biscuits many times and this is the only recipe where they actually turn out right every time. I make mine in a stand mixer and I always end up using about 1/4 cup less of the milk so add milk gradually until the mixture comes away from the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I've been making these for a while now and love them. Just don't handle the dough too much and they turn out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I grew up making these and they are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dedra Knight

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
theses we good but not great. I found that they were a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Very good! I used butter instead of shorting! Turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diandra Neugent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Pretty good ! My biggest woe in this is that I only needed 2/3 cup of milk (so just add the milk in intervals and see ) I kneaded it 5 times then melted a tablespoon of butter and used the trifold technique 3 times to finish the kneading process and stored it in my freezer as I waited for the over to heat up. They came out nice and flaky but admittedly a bit bland. Maybe next time I'll experiment :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 2,719) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States