J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This will be my 'go to' biscuit recipe. My husband ate 4 which was a big surprise...Per other reviews and my own experience I worked quickly with a light touch. No kneading - used cold milk & butter. I put the dough in the fridge for 15 minutes prior to cutting them out. I've never had a better result with any other biscuit. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pahoa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I followed the directions. But my biscuits came out like dried up hockey pucks. They didn't hardly rise. They weren't fluffy. And they tasted bland. And I didn't over cook them. I don't know; I think I'll try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I have never made home made biscuits before but woke up this morning with a hankering for biscuits and gravy. I found this recipe and in no time I was eating a delicious biscuit! I had too have two. First one with gravy and the second one without just to enjoy the biscuit. YUM! Read some if the tips from the experienced and helpful users below. I used butter and cooked a little hotter and faster for altitude as that has worked in the past for baking. I have been spending more time in the kitchen and the taste of this recipe is a confidence builder for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I really liked this recipe, clean simple and to the point, it didn't take me anywhere near 30 min to prep though, probably 5 minutes and 10 in oven, the quickest biscuits I have ever made that were extremely tender, well done :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieMonster1011

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This is the same recipe my grandmother has always used.... SO excited to finally find it again after so many years. Nothing I mean NOTHING beats this biscuit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Yum! We thought these had a corn bread taste, wasn't what I expected but yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Great recipe! Pre heat a cast iron skillet at 425 while making the biscuits.....bake in the Shirley for 15 min for a crunchy bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I use all butter instead of half shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Awesome biscuits never thought they would have come out so delish. Only substitution was half shortening half margarine and knead only a bit came out soft, moist and perfect! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I think the biscuits were fabulous. For those of you who said the biscuits didn't rise, may I suggest you check the expiration date on your baking powder. Also, as many others have suggested, use a metal biscuit cutter (they usually have taller sides than a cooky cutter) a glass cutter will press the sides down rather than give you a clean cut) I used the food processor and they came together super quickly. I didn't need all of the milk and, after reading many reviews, I think the original recipe should be revised to say 3/4-1 cup milk as the amount of milk can vary depending on the flour, humidity and who knows what else. The minimal amount of sugar makes the biscuits brown nicely. Use BUTTER instead of shortening, add the milk SLOWLY and brush the tops of the biscuits with melted butter BEFORE and AFTER baking and you will have the the best biscuits ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 2,630) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States