J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by terri
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Wow, these were super great ! Used them on my chicken pot pie and they are big and delicious. I brushed with butter before baking. Also, don't require kneading, just rolled them in a big circle and pat down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
These tasted great but mine didn't rise very well. Based on the great success of all these people with this recipe, I'm sure it's something wrong on my end but I followed the recipe exactly. I will keep trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Good texture and size. Next time try with brushing the tops with butter and replacing some of the shortening with softened butter. It was missing the salty/buttery goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Good, fluffy/light biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
These biscuits were awesome. I substituted "I can't believe it's not butter" for shortening and didn't use all the milk. Just put enough milk to make the dough stick together. I also kneaded the dough very little. They were tender and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
EXCELLENT! Everyone enjoyed it. I had to doble the recipe. It was fluffy like and moist. We had it with cream cheese. I wll make it again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
These are really good and definitely more for breakfast than dinner. Make sure you make them thick enough when ccutting them from the dough. I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
So simple and so delicious! Reminds me of the biscuits my southern grandmother made! I used butter instead of shortening but other than that kept the recipe the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I have made this recipe 10 times now and every time they are perfect! Sometimes I use almond milk and sometimes cow milk and either work just fine. I think the trick is to not over-knead them. I mix in the milk until it is incorporated and that's it. Then I let it sit for a few minutes (it seems to make them rise better), and just drop little balls on a cookie sheet (it's faster than rolling them out). These freeze very well too. We just love love love these biscuits!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Hatton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Perfect...just perfect! Everyone loved them and they disappeared too soon. Used butter in them and they were wonderfully rich! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 2,696) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States