J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Best biscuits ever!!!! After 20 years I finally am able to make my husband his favorite meal: chicken and biscuits!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life is Good

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This is a great recipe. I've made many such recipes, but this is a winner. Usually, I do 1/2 cup of half-and-half to 3/4, with the remainder being water, instead of the milk -- I normally do not have milk. And, I also use butter rather than shortening. I measure out the ingredients -- mixing the sugar/salt/flour/baking powder, cutting the butter into smaller pieces, pouring the liquid into a measuring cup -- and place them all in the freezer. Whether making pie crust or biscuits, make sure you keep the ingredients cold prior to working with them. When mixing, cut the butter, then add liquid slowly, folding the ingredients. Place the mixture onto a floured surface, and fold and pat it down, rather than kneading it -- you do not knead biscuit dough, you need bread dough to develop gluten (linkages between glutenin and gliadin). Do not over work if you want light flaky biscuits. Lastly, cut the dough with something sharp, so the layers that you have made by folding the dough are allowed to expand, creating the lift needed for a light/big biscuits. If you use a twisting motion rather than a straight cut, you will cause the layers to adhere to each other. Take-aways: keep ingredients cold; do not over work/knead/mix; cut with something sharp; place in an already hot oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Southard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Awesome biscuits. I used butter instead of shortening. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hkraemer
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I was out of shortening, so I used coconut oil. They turned out great! My family loved, them especially since they were Mickey shaped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I made this with 2 cups Bob's Red Mill Gluten free pancake mix. Perfect! I have pix. Will size the picture to 960x960 and post later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nettiejo Swartzwelder Hoffman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Purlear, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emil Peter
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
First time I made these I rolled the dough too thin and ended up with delicious, but not too fluffy biscuits. So I'm making them again and we're all excited to have them with some bacon and eggs. Definitely great flavor and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emil Peter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Light and fluffy if you don't over-mix or knead too much. My new go-to biscuit recipe. Want to spice it up? Add cheese and pepper or herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathryn Aune

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Great recipe!! Very simple and tasty. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
i love it they came out good but a whole cp of milk made it to sticky all thou it is raining here today so could be all the moisture in the air too i used butter flavored shorting gave it great flavor !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Priest

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Baking is not a strong skill for me. This was the first time I made them, and they came out light and tasty. I only had skim milk in the house, but I always have plain non-fat Greek yogurt, so I whisked about 1/4 cup of that in with the skim milk (I wanted to give the milk a little more depth). And the biscuits were delicious! When I make them next time, I just might put rosemary in them for a little more flavor. I will definitely keep making these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 2,825) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States