J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
i just cooked your biscuits this morning to go along with some else's recipe for biscuits and gravy. Thank you loved, kids are eating now :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamilah Broddie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marlenep
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I made them exactly as the directions said to and they were perfect! Best biscuits I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
The best biscuits ever I made them for my mom and dad on Valentine's Day they are awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Wonderful and so easy! I used organic flour, Spectrum (organic all vegetable) butter flavored shortening and Silk Cashew milk (regular, not unsweetened) in place of regular flour, shortening, and milk. They looked a little dry when they came out of the oven so I brushed a little vegan butter on them. They were fluffy and delectable. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Substituted bacon fat for shortening and buttermilk (1 c. whole milk + 1 Tablespoon lemon juice) for regular milk. Once the batter was mixed, dropped the biscuits in mounds on an ungreased pan, nearly touching. They baked up beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Fantastic! Light, fluffy,and perfect for gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Best biscuits ever!!!! After 20 years I finally am able to make my husband his favorite meal: chicken and biscuits!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life is Good

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This is a great recipe. I've made many such recipes, but this is a winner. Usually, I do 1/2 cup of half-and-half to 3/4, with the remainder being water, instead of the milk -- I normally do not have milk. And, I also use butter rather than shortening. I measure out the ingredients -- mixing the sugar/salt/flour/baking powder, cutting the butter into smaller pieces, pouring the liquid into a measuring cup -- and place them all in the freezer. Whether making pie crust or biscuits, make sure you keep the ingredients cold prior to working with them. When mixing, cut the butter, then add liquid slowly, folding the ingredients. Place the mixture onto a floured surface, and fold and pat it down, rather than kneading it -- you do not knead biscuit dough, you need bread dough to develop gluten (linkages between glutenin and gliadin). Do not over work if you want light flaky biscuits. Lastly, cut the dough with something sharp, so the layers that you have made by folding the dough are allowed to expand, creating the lift needed for a light/big biscuits. If you use a twisting motion rather than a straight cut, you will cause the layers to adhere to each other. Take-aways: keep ingredients cold; do not over work/knead/mix; cut with something sharp; place in an already hot oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Southard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Awesome biscuits. I used butter instead of shortening. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hkraemer
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I was out of shortening, so I used coconut oil. They turned out great! My family loved, them especially since they were Mickey shaped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 2,821) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States