J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Worked great the first time around. I rolled them thinner than 1" (in order to get more than 2-3), and they were still so fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Delicious biscuit recipe! A good, old standard. I baked mine in a cast iron skillet. I preheated the skillet in the 425 oven, then added a couple tbs of butter to melt. The biscuits cooked in that pan of melted butter. Then during the last 5-minutes of baking I basted the top of the biscuits with melted butter. The result was a tender, rich, buttery biscuit that went perfectly with my homemade sausage gravy. This is now officially my keeper biscuit recipe. The only alteration I made to the ingredients was to only use as much of the milk as was needed. By this I mean that I poured a cup of milk, but I added that milk to the dough sparingly just until the dough came together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMadeWaffles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Otsego, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plainwell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DudeCanCook
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I have tried many homemade biscuit recipes and this is hands down the best I have used. I used butter flavored Crisco and 1/2 buttermilk 1/2 white milk and they turned out perfect. This is now my go to recipe for big moist and fluffy biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Awesome quick biscuits nice crispy exterior with a soft flaky inside
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Harrison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
They were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkayOkayTFiOS13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I have tried many different biscuit recipes, and this one was by far the easiest dough to work with! It does indeed turn out large, picture perfect biscuits. They were not voted best tasting out of all the recipes I tried, but as far as prep, they were my favorite! A good solid recipe that won't disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Awesome recipe! Great as a base for adding different ingredients like cheese and herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I loved these! I've made a lot of homemade biscuits however these are the best by far! I rolled the dough out too thin so I squashed two together before I put them in the oven and they turned out just fine, a lot easier to break in half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nootsy'd
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This recipe is perfect for the novice to the master baker! I, too, had to put a twist on mine by substituting frozen butter shredded with cheese grater and adding three ingredients. I included a tbls of black pepper, 1 finely chopped/seeded fresh jalepeno as well as handful of shredded cheddar. Made these for breakfast and was hoping to have at lunch with chili, did have to make a second batch for lunch!, no left overs after breakfast. Like so many others press down don't twist when cutting. BTW hamburger chain restaurant here in Texas trying make similar biscuits, hah!!! They should stick to hamburgers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 2,720) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States