J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Very good! I didn't have shortening, so used half a stick of butter instead..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I thought this was an easy yummy biscuit recipe. I used milk with a tablespoon of vinegar in it, comes close to buttermilk that way. This is the biscuit recipe for someone who is a novice, very hard to go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
LOVE making these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Super Easy to make and Oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bethel, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Wouldn't change a thing. Rolled out the dough to 1" as instructed, but used a big cup to make fat 5" wide biscuits of perfect flavor and texture. A bit dry at the edges, soft and dense in the middle. A simple, classic recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I finally found a biscuit recipe worth my time.... Thanks for sharing. I did substitute margarine in place of the shortening and I did not knead the dough. Given my previous experience with baking I decided it would only make them more dense to knead the dough. Also the margarine adds to the flavor. Thanks again for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I woke hungry for biscuits this morning. It's Sunday morning, wanted to fix a big breakfast for the family... Thought I'd try this recipe today and found it a tad bit disappointing. Yes they raise up nicely, look ok but taste was bland and dry. I would not try this recipe again, it's missing that "something" to make it a great biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
OH YUM! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. My husband is on a restricted sodium diet and I’ve been searching FOR MONTHS for a good, low sodium biscuit! This is it! Here’s what I did: to the 2 C. flour and 1 T. sugar I used 2 t. low sodium baking powder (I’m going to purchase no sodium baking powder next!), ½ t. no sodium baking soda, ¼ t. salt, 4 T. buttermilk powder, substituted water for the milk and used cold, unsalted butter instead of shortening. I figured that with the yield of 6 biscuits, each one has approximately 261 mg. of sodium. I didn’t really knead the dough either – just sort of patted it together on a floured counter, using flour as needed so the dough wouldn’t stick. Don’t know why I didn’t think of this before…take a good basic biscuit recipe and simply reduce the salt, etc.! Simply GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I substituted Oil instead of Shortening and I enjoyed the outcome taste and look much better! I loved making these fun tasty biscuits and I will make them again soon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Love these biscuits. They're perfect for biscuits and gravy mornings and they get so big! Remember, it's important to mix/knead them as little as possible otherwise they won't get fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bitter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 2,746) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States