J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Photo by Nootsy'd
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This recipe is perfect for the novice to the master baker! I, too, had to put a twist on mine by substituting frozen butter shredded with cheese grater and adding three ingredients. I included a tbls of black pepper, 1 finely chopped/seeded fresh jalepeno as well as handful of shredded cheddar. Made these for breakfast and was hoping to have at lunch with chili, did have to make a second batch for lunch!, no left overs after breakfast. Like so many others press down don't twist when cutting. BTW hamburger chain restaurant here in Texas trying make similar biscuits, hah!!! They should stick to hamburgers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I really loved these biscuits. They were very easy to make took about half an hour from start to finish. No way could I knead this for 20mins with a very active 4 month old around. It took 5mins to add all the ingredients together, 10mins kneading and 15mins baking. And they came out great. They were so nice and fluffy, melt in your mouth. Will def make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jojo B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Awesome biscuits. Light and fluffy. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Amazing; my wife is a picky biscuit lover, and these will be my new go to recipe. Like most, I substituted margarine for the shortening with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I am 70 years old and have been cooking for over 50 years. I tried to make biscuits when I was much younger, they were like hockey pucks, I never made them again, until I tried these. They were wonderful and so easy. I don't know why anyone would want to change the recipe. They are perfect just the way they are. I will make them again soon, with dried beef gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Yummy. Must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Love this recipe. It's the only one i use now - simple yet effective. Love the density and the texture. Question - any way to juice up the flavor. They are really good, but could use something 'extra'. Perhaps I'll try butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kip Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I've used this recipe dozens of times now in fact it's the reason I signed up for an allrecipes account. I've made them rolled/cut and drop style plain and with a number of added ingredients (tonight ham, cheese, leeks and herbs) this is the best biscuit recipe I've ever used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
These was really good. I made 2 batches the first one I followed the recipe to a T. They turned out good but did not raise the way I had hoped. Second time around I made these changes. 1. I used buttermilk instead of milk. 2. DO NOT knead just mix till combined 3.let dough rest for 1-3 hours before patting out and baking. brush top with melted butter before and after baking. making these few changes made some outstanding biscuits! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 171-180 (of 2,851) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States