J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Very good! Rubbed a little butter on top at the end of baking. Taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I will never buy frozen biscuit anymore! I followed everything except for substituting butter from shortening and it turned out great, I mean big, fluffy, and so moist. Listen to everybody, don't over kneed the dough. Thank you so much J.P. For this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Nanamendoza
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Less salt and I would use buttermilk next time. But first time making biscuits and first time using my new KitchenAid processor so I loved the recipe it was so easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I subbed butter for the shortening and whey from yogurt making for the milk. These are THE BEST biscuits ever! They rise and flake beautifully! Making some tonight to go in top of pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
These came out great. I mixed the ingredients just until the flour was absorbed and then simply dropped them on the baking sheet like cookie dough. No need to roll out if you are having difficulty with overworked hard biscuits. I also cooked them at 300 degrees or less in my toaster oven because I cut the recipe in half and made 4 perfectly cooked biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by debbie
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
These are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I read a lot of reviews for this and I have a couple of comments. First of all, thank you. I love these. I made them to go with my beef stew tonight. I rolled them too thin so they didn't get very big but that was my fault. I ended up with like twelve instead of six. I also used butter instead because that's what I had on hand. I had to use a glass to cut them and it worked fine. I used all of the milk so I had to flour my surface and my rolling pin quite a bit but it was fine. The bottoms came out crispy and buttery and the insides were soft. Super good! Thank you JP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bevvie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Great recipe. I use COLD butter instead of shortening and buttermilk instead of regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Perfect biscuits. I was out of shortening when I made these... Substituted half butter half bacon fat. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
These turned out so soft and moist. This may be my go to recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 2,823) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States