J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Didn't rise at all for me, maybe because I have really old baking powder. I didn't knead the dough, so that wasn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Practice makes perfect. With a little practice these biscuits turn out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
These were great! I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelelyl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I found this recipe a few years ago and bookmarked it and kept using it...then my laptop crashed and I got another and I JUST FOUND THIS RECIPE AGAIN!! My kids and I just enjoyed biscuits and sausage gravy, and these biscuits never disappoint! They're easy, quick, and produce excellent results every single time. This time my six year old daughter helped me, and it was simple enough that she could participate easily. Great Saturday-morning-breakfast-with-the-kids biscuit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
First time making biscuits and they turned out perfect! I didn't knead the dough like everyone has suggested, just dropped onto a surface and flattened out with fingers. They grew more in width than in height, so don't make them too short. Will bake many more times. These are perfect for breakfast sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
The ingredients are a good basic biscuit recipe, though I use half a cup of shortening and little or no sugar. Since it is a law of biscuit making to handle the dough as little as possible, I don't know why it calls for kneading--and 14 to 15 times!! If those babies aren't tough, then, I will be greatly surprised. I don't knead at all, and I don't use a rolling pin. Put the mixed dough out on a floured board, dust it with more flour, pat it into a round about 3/4 inch thick and cut into rounds. Gently does it. Bake as the recipe directs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
The best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Followed directions; biscuits were very good! I did take other advice and not knead dough too much. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Photo by calvindexter
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I just tried them yesterday and they came out delicious! I didn't have shortening so I used butter instead. But Like I said, they were so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
We have used this recipe for a long time usually with wheat and white flour. They are the biggest biscuits ever with a very good tast. It is also a good recipe to make in half if there are only 1 or 2 in your house:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Staunton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 2,574) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States