J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Awesome biscuits never thought they would have come out so delish. Only substitution was half shortening half margarine and knead only a bit came out soft, moist and perfect! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I think the biscuits were fabulous. For those of you who said the biscuits didn't rise, may I suggest you check the expiration date on your baking powder. Also, as many others have suggested, use a metal biscuit cutter (they usually have taller sides than a cooky cutter) a glass cutter will press the sides down rather than give you a clean cut) I used the food processor and they came together super quickly. I didn't need all of the milk and, after reading many reviews, I think the original recipe should be revised to say 3/4-1 cup milk as the amount of milk can vary depending on the flour, humidity and who knows what else. The minimal amount of sugar makes the biscuits brown nicely. Use BUTTER instead of shortening, add the milk SLOWLY and brush the tops of the biscuits with melted butter BEFORE and AFTER baking and you will have the the best biscuits ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Yum! I whipped up some maple butter (butter+pure maple syrup) with the biscuits they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I pulled the biscuits from the oven several minutes ago and just popped the first one for a quick few bites: Biscuit nirvana! Many thanks to JP for sharing this great recipe. The biscuits have turned out nicely fluffy but also with a very slight crispiness to the outside which adds a certain robustness to the experience of biting into it. Like others on this forum, I made a few modifications which luckily did not result in damaging the quality of the biscuits. My modifications include:. 1.) I used whole spelt flour. The texture and consistency of the biscuits is fabulous. 2.) I substituted coconut oil for the shortening - 75% of the amount of shortening the recipe called for. 3.) I also added just a bit of cold butter (approximately 1/3 cup) as it appeared that the mixture needed just a bit more fat. I believe that the coconut oil may account for the lovely slight crispiness. It also added a subtle flavour to the bisquits. 4.) I also doubled the recipe. In short: Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kkaye76
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
These are AWESOME!! I didnt kneed as much as he says.. just bout 6 or 7 turns... Oh MY WORD! They raised up big & fluffy, lots of layers of awesomeness! Best recipe for biscuits I've ever seen! Thanks JP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Quick and super simple- didn't change a thing! Biscuits are perfect just the way they are! I ate them with a spicy/sweet sausage gravy, and also with butter and honey- delicious either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by miranda
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Yummm! My son ate 4 (the recipe made 6) new family fave! I used butter instead of shortening and patted into rectangle cut length wise down the middle then crosswise to make 6 square biscuits- great for sanwich this way:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Basic recipe. Changes that worked for me: 1/2 cup of softened BUTTER!!!, BUTTERMILK!!, Self Rising flour plus 1 teaspoon baking powder, 450 degrees (thermometer read), NO KNEADING, just get everything wet, then flour your hands and place the ball on floured countertop, hand form the dough to 3/4 to 1 inch thick (no rolling pin), cut and place biscuits on pie pan touching (I also use parchment paper). Brush tops with melted butter, Bake 11 to 14 minutes. check at 11 minutes. If not brown on top, turn your oven to high broil and toast for about 90 seconds. Fluffy, YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I've been making this recipe for years! Just realized i never gave it a rating... def a keeper, and my "go to" on sunday mornings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RheyganD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 2,623) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States