J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This recipe isn't bad but doesn't have the snappy biscuit taste of bakewell cream biscuits. I'm staying with the old standby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I have made these several times and have loved them everytime. This has become the standard recipe in my biscuit making. I am attempting to prepare them the night before currently and will see if they turn out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I use cold butter instead of shortening. These are the best biscuits I've ever eaten, and I can add cheese etc without affecting the quality. This is the only biscuit recipe I use now. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
We liked these a lot!! Going to make again without the sugar and adding in the cheddar cheese + spices from Cheddar Bay Biscuits. Will keep this recipe for regular biscuits. Thanks JP!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
These biscuits turned out great. Slightly crispy top and bottom; soft all the way through. I have made these many times with a 100% success rate. These taste awesome with honey, strawberry jam, sweet potato or apple butter, blackberry preserves...almost anything spreadable, really. This is my go-to biscuit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Thems some big biscuits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainview, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
It's probably my own fault, but the end result has been hit or miss. When they turn out they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley Ewald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I LOVE this recipe. I will use this for the rest of my life! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rockey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
By far the best biscuit recipe ever. Perfect as-is, but sometimes I use butter instead of shortening, and they turn out perfect. They are tender, moist, light and flavorful. Just don't overwork the dough, or they will be like tasty little rocks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitzie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marchnikki
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I was craving biscuits like crazy. Unfortunately, these delicious little buggers only threw more gasoline in the fire. I followed the recipe exactly except for I used half butter and half pumpkin puree instead of shortening and skim milk with a tablespoon of vinegar instead of regular milk. Proportionally it was all the same, though, and I was shocked (pleasantly so) at how buttery they tasted. This was my first time making biscuits, and I do think I overworked them a bit. One of these days I'll make them again and try to be more gentle, and maybe use sweet potato or applesauce instead of pumpkin puree. If they are as good as they are with the puree, I can only imagine how good they are with all butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 2,825) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States