J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This was great! One thing I did was sift the dry ingredients together, I also cooked then in a greased hot cast iron skillet. They turned out perfect. Thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Very easy to make and were delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was absolutely delightful. What a great base biscuit recipe. I whipped these up this afternoon for the first time ever. I didn't knead it at all, just kind of pressed it together and shaped it into a rough rectangle and cut them into squares. I added some shredded cheddar and mozzarella cheeses to it. The possibilities are endless. Raisins and cinnamon.. dried cranberries and orange peel... diced ham, cheese and chives. Next time I might even try them plain, I'm sure they're wonderful that way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This is the best recipe ever. They are very fluffy and awesomely good. My family loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Great recipe! Butter buttermilk no salt and 2/3-3/4 cup milk. I cook these in my iron skillet greased with bacon grease. It adds so much flavor and much better than shortening. Recipe is a keeper, wonderful biscuits. Thanks for the recipe. Hot Tennessee Pride sausage( yes it does matter) and gravy biscuits are just amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Yes I did and it was the best I have ever made! mine always turn out flat and hard! But not theses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juanita Morton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Khristine
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I used all butter (grated in, frozen.) I prefer the dough to be slightly wet and do all my mixing/kneading in the bowl with a spatula. I turn the sticky dough onto a floured surface and sprinkle it with flour and roll it quickly into a thin sheet. I followed another review and folded the sheet over once (if its too sticky, just use a knife or bench scraper to help it over.) Then use a floured cookie cutter to cut out 8 med. sized biscuits placed spaced apart in a foil lined cookie sheet. Brush melted butter on top of each and baked mine for about 12 mins. always checking after the 1st 10 mins. Oh, I also bake them on a rack moved up to the second highest level otherwise the bottoms get too brown before the tops get a chance to. Very delicious! Thank you, John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I love these! They are a sinch to make. Theyalways turn out perfect! I've used lard and butter. Both are great. Amazing with biscuits and gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Really good biscuits.after trying some other biscuits from this website i was reluctant because of the worry I'll waste ingredients with no results but these turned out pretty good.ill make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This will be my 'go to' biscuit recipe. My husband ate 4 which was a big surprise...Per other reviews and my own experience I worked quickly with a light touch. No kneading - used cold milk & butter. I put the dough in the fridge for 15 minutes prior to cutting them out. I've never had a better result with any other biscuit. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pahoa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 2,630) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States