Joy's Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2000
The first taco salad I've ever made. Loved it! Left out squash cause it's not a favorite at our house. But I think it still would have been good with the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2000
I have made this Taco Salad for several Gatherings. Everyone loves it. I like the idea of putting the taco seasoning in the dressing.This will continue to be one of my favorites to take to a pot luck. Thank you for sharing. Joan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
A fantastic salad!!! I substituted refried beans for the ground beef and I added green olives. It received rave reviews from my fiance!!. I halved the recipe for the 2 of us and even then we had leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
My friend Cathie makes this often during our Summer get-togethers and we all love it! She makes it with ground turkey instead of the beef and uses a large bottled Thousand Island dressing in place of the Miracle Whip/ketchup mixture. Simply yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
Made this for an office lunch today - RAVE REVIEWS - I took someone elses suggestion and used salsa instead of the ketchup. I also only used one bag of chips - but that's the great thing about the recipe you can change to your personal taste - it's all good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
I deleted the chiles because it was for a family potluck and not everyone likes hot. I put frozen sweet corn in instead. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Very tasty. I would like to try the dressing using sour cream instead of mayonnaise, but this versions was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
This made for a tasty and filling lunch. I used half sour cream half mayo, and like others sub'd salsa for the ketchup in the dressing. One bag of chips was sufficient. We don't care for chickpeas so I used frozen whole kernel corn instead. Beautiful presentation, too. Thanks Joy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
Easy and good...doesn't get any better then that. I did use salsa instead of ketchup, and half sour cream and salad dressing. To lower the fat and calorie content I used fat free salad dressing, sour cream and tortilla chips. My family could not tell the difference and the salad still rocked!! Thank you, Joy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
GREAT salad... I also used salsa in place of the ketchup and half sour cream, half mayo, and it was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States