Joy's Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Super Easy and Yummy as Well! AKA Garbage Salad…because you can use just about anything in the kitchen. Keeping with the Mexican Salad theme, here are a couple of substitutes that my family really loves: 1.) in lieu of kidney beans…use black beans (drained); 2.) in lieu of garbanzo beans…use whole kernel corn (drained); 3.) in lieu of ketchup…use salsa or better still, Pico de Gallo; 4.) in lieu of cheddar cheese…use a Mexican blended mix; 5.) for added taste and color...toss in red bell pepper, along with the green and yellow; 6.) for salad dressing…use either jalapeño ranch or guacamole ranch; 7.) for the ultimate taste sensation…use cilantro, cilantro and more cilantro (fresh). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I am in the middle of making it right now, it is looking so so good. Am I reading this right that it is to be served cold? Not sure how my kids will feel about cold ground beef and unmelted cheese. But then again can't see heating up sour cream and mayo either. If anyone can respond, I'd appreciate it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bella paisana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ballwin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
A friend brought this to work recently for a potluck and it was gone faster than anything else on the table. When I asked for the recipe I was surprised at the ingredients as I would never have thought of salad dressing and ketchup in taco salad. Don't be put off by that though. This dish is incredibly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This was a delicious recipe!!! The only thing we changed was to add a little bit of skim milk to the dressing and a little bit more taco seasoning to the dressing. Great veggies though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Eat as salsa with chips. Dressing great made with yogurt too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
So good; even the leftovers were great. we just saved extra chips to add the next day so they didnt get too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by preacher'swife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Wonderful! I sauteeed the peppers, and changed the dressing as one reveiwer suggested. 1.5 cups light sour cream, about 1/3 cup ketchup, and a taco seasoning mix from this site. I loved this, and so did my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I don't know what I was expecting, but we thought this was just ok. The dressing was a little bit peculiar, and the meat was pretty boring. Some cumin and lime juice would probably have helped. Oh well, thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I'd recommend using Fritos instead of tortilla chips, they're SO good in this! We didn't care for how the dressing tasted (too sour from the Miracle Whip) so we did another batch with only 2 tbsp of Miracle Whip, not as much ketchup, 1 1/2 cups of light sour cream, and a little bit of regular mayo (1-2 tbsp) and then the taco seasoning, and mmmmmmmm was that good!!! I don't remember if the recipe calls for them, but I added black olives on top, which were fantastic in this! Definitely a great family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States