Joy's Prizewinning Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I doubled the cream filling... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brutusbc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Delicious! I don't really care for angel food cake so I substituted it for a boxed French Vanilla cake. For each layer, I put the cake on the bottom, followed by the fruit, then the pudding on top. I used the bananas and pineapples for the bottom layer of fruit, raspberries and blueberries for the middle layer of fruit, and strawberries and kiwis for the top layer of fruit. The bowl I used was larger than a regular trifle bowl, so I ran out of pudding after the first two layers. I didn't have any more sour cream, so for the top layer I mixed some cream cheese with cool whip and vanilla pudding. I sprinkled some more strawberries and kiwis on top along with some toasted almonds. I did the almonds over the stove top in butter, about five minutes until golden brown. Then put them on a paper towel to soak up the excess oil. My family devoured this dish. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Buckley Grant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Great recipe for a basic trifle - any combination of fruits will work. I served this at a summer cookout and it disappeared! Everyone gave 5star reviews; but my own children were more honest: they loved it, but all of them suggested that next time, I leave out the bananas. The flavor is too overpowering and almost ruined the freshness of the summer berries. I would suggest saving your bananas to use in making a banana trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This recipe is absolutely divine! The whipped topping mixture is so delicious! I will say that the one thing I will do when I make it again is completely drain the canned pineapple. I didn't do that and it made the trifle mushy... Another reason it was probably mushy was because I made it the night before I served it, so it sat in the fridge for too long. Also, the next time I make it, I will use other berries to make it an even more beautiful trifle. Joy...thank you so much for this phenomenal recipe. I wish I could upload the picture of my trifle so you could see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
this is fantabulous! i made it with a vanilla cake mix and it was to die for! tonight i'll be using the angel food as a more weight concious choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This was delicious! I made it like recommended where you mixed the pudding with 1 cup of milk and soaked the bananas in leftover pineapple juice. I also used lemon pudding with about 1 TBSP of key lime juice to give it a slight bit more zing. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is a perfect summer dessert! I used raspberries, strawberries and blueberries, along with the bananas soaked in the pineapple juice. I used chunk pineapples and cut some of them up in the fruit layer. Used lite sour cream, lite cool whip and cheesecake pudding prepared with skim milk. I mistakenly forgot the sour cream so the first 2 layers just had pudding and cool whip. I added the sour cream to the remaining cool whip and used that for the top layer. The sour cream cuts the usual cool whip taste and the combination tasted like real whipped cream. I'll make sure not to forget the sour cream the next time! In the future for recipes that call for cool whip, I'll be adding sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This dish is beautiful and tasty. I took it to a dinner party and everyone loved it. I did use the cheesecake pudding instead of vanilla pudding, but followed the rest of the recipe as written. Next time I'll probably play around with different fruits also. Thanks for a great dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I made this as written, and I felt that it tasted like coolwhip and fruit. Maybe I'm just not a trifle fan, but no one at my dinner party raved like I thought they would based on the reviews here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This was funny. I bought boxed angel food cake. A first for me (angel food cake, not boxed cake). Duncan Hines. The directions literally shout out at you from the box. Use a tube pan and DO NOT GREASE IT!!. okay. I think that's a bad idea but whatever. Then it says to beat it at medium speed for one minute. DO NOT OVERBEAT! alright already. Then it says, bake for 38-48 minutes. Hmm. That's a big window. Followed by "DO NOT UNDERBAKE!" Say what? And stop shouting at me!! I'm not even going to go into the "hang pan upside down on heat-proof glass bottle until completely cool (like I have one of those hanging around!). What is that anyway? Anywho, after talking back to the box, I made the cake. It basically exploded out of my bundt pan but whatever. It was difficult to get out of the pan (shocker!) and let's just say thank goodness you can put this thing in pieces in the trifle bowl. And let me say, this was FANTASTIC! Funny how you never know. Did the red, white and blue thing for the fourth. BTW, bought an 8 oz tub of cool whip and it calls for 12 oz. Hubs ran to store got another tub. Frozen. So I put it in my microwave. And as I',m looking at it spinning in there, I think to myself, "um, this isn't a good idea. But I salvaged it. Thanks Joy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States