Joy's Prizewinning Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I used blueberries, blackberries and strawberries. Also used cheesecake pudding. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stinkerbellelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I used strawberries and blueberries instead of all the other fruit and it was beyond yummy!! I have made it twice and will make it for the rest of my life. LOVE ITTT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbies-girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery Village, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Awesome! Brought to a BBQ and there was nothing left. Have been asked to make this again for the next get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Wow! This is a keeper...very attractive, colorful and easy to put together. A nice light fruity dessert and very filling I might add. I had tons of strawberries and blueberries and this happens to be in season so it was perfect. The only thing that took time which was not too long for me is that layering of the fruits, whipped topping and angel food cake. I also put it in the refrigerator to set for a few hours before eating. Next time I might try baking my own angel food cake from scratch and/or layering other kinds of other fruits. Yummy and pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
We normally only like trifle made with homemade custard (the British one) but have to admit this is very good and will be used as an alternative. I agree that, if you can find it, white chocolate instant pudding is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This was my first time making a trifle. And MAN was it good!!! I took it to a backyard BBQ and received lots of oohs and ahhs on apperance then HOLY COW IS THAT GOOD on taste. I followed some of the suggestions like using cheesecake pudding which i added 1 c of milk to before folding into cool whip. I also presoaked my bananas in the pinapple juice a splash of OJ and some lime juice. Just because i didnt have enough pinapple juice for all the bananas and its what i had on hand. I received rave reviews and people asking for my secret recipe. Thanks Joy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I soaked the bananas in the pineapple juice - worked perfectly. I also used only 8oz of cool whip and substituted in 4oz of vanilla yogurt to avoid the overpowering cool whip taste. Also added 20oz of pineapple instead of 15oz. And only used 1 kiwi and added 1 cup of blueberries. And used cream cheese pudding mix instead of vanilla - and prepared the pudding as per the package instructions prior to using. Too dry otherwise! Terrific recipe - everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! However, I made several changes. I only used blueberries and strawberries for the fruit, since that's all I had on hand. I also substituted the cool whip for real whipped cream ( I just whipped up 12oz of whipping cream and added a 1/4 cup of sugar to it). I also added the zest of two lemons to the cream, and it was amazing! Thanks for a yummy and impressive recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Loved it! We tore the cake into pieces to make it easier to dish up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States