Joy's Prizewinning Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I LOVE this recipe! Easy and delicious. Every single bit of it disappears each time I bring it to a gathering! I do drop the bananas into the pineapple juice to soak up some of that flavor while I'm assembling the trifle; not sure if this helps with the dryness a few people mentioned, but I've only had rave reviews from anyone who's ever tried it....wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Made this trifle for bridge. Amazing dessert - light and not too sweet. As with other reviewers, I prepared the pudding before adding sour cream and cool whip. Scrumptious!! Thanks so much :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKTRUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Forest, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Impressive dessert and tastes so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I've made this a couple of times for potluck dinners. Everyone has loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
DO NOT make the pudding mix first, and THEN add the sour cream & whipped topping. If you make the pudding first, it's going to be a wet, gloppy, mess that will over soak your cake while chilling. Next time I might make a homemade angel food cake instead of a purchased one from the Deli. This is almost too pretty to eat. *Almost*. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Hey guess what?!!! I made this recipe EXACTLY AS WRITTEN and can therefore justify the five star rating. Anyways....I mixed the dry pudding mix with the cool whip and sour cream and it was the most perfect thing ever, delicious. I had no issue with it being too thick at all. I think you need to let the cool whip thaw completely and use the right amount of sour cream and the correct sized box of pudding, I think that's the mistake people are making...let the cool whip THAW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forbach, Lorraine, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
OK, This is delicious! Made it for Labor Day weekend and it was a hit. I could eat a ton of this stuff! I followed the recipe exactly, using french vanilla pudding mix, no kiwis, blueberry and strawberry for festive colors, and was able to fit 2 solid layers in my very large decorative bowl. No worries though, I just used up my ingredients and it was still beautiful and delicious. For people saying to prepare the pudding before adding- I think this is all dependent on the pudding mix you buy, there are so many choices at the store, I made sure to get the 3.4 oz, regular old pudding mix, not sugar free, or cook n serve or one of the many other varieties. I mixed mine in and it was perfect, making the pudding would have been way watery. I would say add more cool whip if you are looking fore bulk in the cream mixture. Can't wait to make this with variations in ingredients (chocolate pudding, different fruit, etc) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Delicious and versatile! I read the reviews and mixed the pudding with a cup of milk first. I used banana crème pudding instead of bananas which was delicious. I was unsure of how to put the fruit on the cake and so I layered cake, pudding/coolwhip mixture and then mixed the pineapple into that. I then used mandarin oranges and blueberries along with the kiwis, and repeated. I ended with the cool whip mixture and decorated the top with strawberries. It was wonderful. I really felt it tasted better the second day. I wouldn't be afraid to make it a day ahead and let it sit for a day before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This was a big hit after dinner. I made my own angel food cake. Angel Food Cake I by Syd. I also followed the advise of others to make the pudding according to the directions on the box and also soaked the bananas in the pineapple juice. I used strawberries, blueberries and bananas for a patriotic theme. It had the perfect amount of sweetness and the fruit makes this a very refreshing desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran Janis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Majority of co-workers liked this. Also prepared pudding according to box instructions before folding with sour cream and whipped topping. Used 1.5 oz box of banana cream flavor pudding + 1 cup half&half + 1 cup milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States