Joy's Prizewinning Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This dish has become a tradition at our family's Christmas gatherings. No one will let me bring anything else! I make it exactly as directed, and it is a HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dora Phyllis Jernigan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I used this for my son's pirate themed birthday. I swirled in blue food coloring in the top layer for the ocean and then peaked areas for waves, and placed a toy pirate ship on it. It was a fun recipe instead of traditional cake. Used berries (blueberries, raspberries, strawberries).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This trifle was awesome and eaten by everyone at the table! I also soaked the bananas in the pineapple juice and also added a layer of blueberries. It was delicious and can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Followed recipe exactly. (Okay...not exactly: I added 1 cup of milk to the pudding like others suggested, and I soaked the bananas in the pineapple juice.) But this dessert was great! Sweet, light, decadent. I usually don't consider it dessert until chocolate is involved, but I'll be whipping up this one again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I was invited to a bar b q at a chef's home and took this as a dessert. They flipped, and I have been asked to bring this to every gathering since. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I made this for a family party and everyone loved it. I actually folded the drained crushed pineapple into the pudding mixture after making the pudding mixture the way the recipe states. I liked the flavor a lot better that way, because I'm not a big cool whip fan, and other reviewers had said the pudding mix was too dry, so the pineapple helped with that. Make sure to prepare the pudding mix pretty quickly, because the pudding will start to set up and you'll get little clumps like Tapioca. For this one, I used mixed berries, since it's the season for them. It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I have made this recipe about 50 times and use it for just about every BBQ I go to in the summer. I think the best thing about this recipe is the ability to change it. Do not fear playing around with the ingredients and "making it your own" with such a solid start you can not go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms_ako

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Everyone LOVED this dessert!! The only things I did differently were that I used cream cheese instead of sour cream, french vanilla instead of vanilla pudding, and I added blueberries. My family can't wait until I make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelnae4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Dimas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This recipe is wonderful as written. Just add the pudding mix dry if you want this dessert to fit in a trifle bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Even better the next day. Use whatever fruit you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Ferq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA
Living In: Newbury Park, California, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States