Joy's Prizewinning Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Wonderful dessert! I was unsure of the sourcream but I'm glad I added it. It wasn't too sweet like a lot of trifles are, but just right. The cream mixture was a little too stiff and barely enough, so I added another half a container to the mix. Turned out perfect. I used all the fruit in the recipe and added raspberries and blackberries. This is my go to trifle recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Great trifle. By far my fave. I use jelly rolls instead of angel food cake. Easier to fit in a trifle dish. Other suggestions I found were valuable - making the pudding according to the box before adding to sour cream and I also soaked all the cut fruits in pineapple juice prior to adding to the bowl but did not use the pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This trifle is always a hit at potlucks - I always bring home a clean dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Faler

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This dish has become a tradition at our family's Christmas gatherings. No one will let me bring anything else! I make it exactly as directed, and it is a HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dora Phyllis Jernigan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I used this for my son's pirate themed birthday. I swirled in blue food coloring in the top layer for the ocean and then peaked areas for waves, and placed a toy pirate ship on it. It was a fun recipe instead of traditional cake. Used berries (blueberries, raspberries, strawberries).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This trifle was awesome and eaten by everyone at the table! I also soaked the bananas in the pineapple juice and also added a layer of blueberries. It was delicious and can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Followed recipe exactly. (Okay...not exactly: I added 1 cup of milk to the pudding like others suggested, and I soaked the bananas in the pineapple juice.) But this dessert was great! Sweet, light, decadent. I usually don't consider it dessert until chocolate is involved, but I'll be whipping up this one again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I was invited to a bar b q at a chef's home and took this as a dessert. They flipped, and I have been asked to bring this to every gathering since. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I made this for a family party and everyone loved it. I actually folded the drained crushed pineapple into the pudding mixture after making the pudding mixture the way the recipe states. I liked the flavor a lot better that way, because I'm not a big cool whip fan, and other reviewers had said the pudding mix was too dry, so the pineapple helped with that. Make sure to prepare the pudding mix pretty quickly, because the pudding will start to set up and you'll get little clumps like Tapioca. For this one, I used mixed berries, since it's the season for them. It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I have made this recipe about 50 times and use it for just about every BBQ I go to in the summer. I think the best thing about this recipe is the ability to change it. Do not fear playing around with the ingredients and "making it your own" with such a solid start you can not go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms_ako

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States