Jose's Shrimp Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
The flavors for this recipe worked really well together, and the final product tasted great. The marinating time for the shrimp was way too short. After an hour, I cut into a n ice pink shrimp to find it completely raw in the middle. I cut the shrimp up into little pieces, and let it marinate for another 3 hours until it was pink all the way through. The recipe is worth making, but I recommend cutting the shrimp up and then letting it marinate all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I used this recipe in conjunction with a ceviche I had at a restaurant so I ommitted the celery and avacado and used a red onion instead and added mango. I let the shrimp soak in the lime juice for about 4 hours, put everything together and put it on ice to get it really chilled. I quartered flour tortillas, sprayed them with cooking spray and baked them @375 for 10 minutes and served them with the ceviche - they were perfect together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyJak

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ninapastina
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Yum! I was craving ceviche and this was perfect! I tweaked it slightly though, by adding diced cucumbers instead of celery, the juice of one lemon, and some lemon and lime zest. I also used frozen cooked shrimp and canned diced tomatoes, and was amazed at how fresh it still tasted. This is a great basic ceviche recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ninapastina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
My taste buds are dancing this is a great dip.I used stewed tomatos instead.I reccomend Marvin Gaye as your fixing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This is quick! If you want to "kick it up a few notches, use green jalepeno's chopped fine. It gives a sweet starting taste and a little "afterburner"... Sweet and sassy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This recipe was very similar to one that I had in a little mexican place in the middle of Nevada. It needed more than one jalapeno though. I was a bit wary of "cooking" the shrimp with the juice. I only had cooked shrimp the first time around and it was bland from not absorbing the juice. It was much better the second day though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Made it last night for a big group of friends & they all loved it! The celery really did add a nice little touch. Since I didn't have a lot of time, I used already cooked shrimp - only marinated for about 2 hours before I served it. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cusine By Colleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was good. It took waaaay longer then 10 minutes for the shrimp to "cook", close to an hour. I think this would be great for dipping tortilla chips in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coronagirl0828

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, Maryland, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Loved this! I didn't change a thing. Great balance of flavors - I am a huge fan of ceviche and am thrilled to have a new "go to" recipe that is so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdiCroft

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was so yummy and fresh. I can't wait to make in the summer time. I did make a couple changes... I added: 2 cups Clamato cocktail juice, cucumber, white onion instead of yellow and lemon juice instead of lime. We put this over tostadas. And it was Mmm mmm good. Easy dish to make for a lot of people. 4lbs of shrimp served about 8 adults and 4 kids. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Mahi Mahi Ceviche

See how to make a refreshing chilled fish salad.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Crab Ceviche

See how to make a simple ceviche with imitation crab meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States