Jose's Shrimp Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
The flavors for this recipe worked really well together, and the final product tasted great. The marinating time for the shrimp was way too short. After an hour, I cut into a n ice pink shrimp to find it completely raw in the middle. I cut the shrimp up into little pieces, and let it marinate for another 3 hours until it was pink all the way through. The recipe is worth making, but I recommend cutting the shrimp up and then letting it marinate all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
My taste buds are dancing this is a great dip.I used stewed tomatos instead.I reccomend Marvin Gaye as your fixing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
It was great and simple. Everything really tasted great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I used this recipe in conjunction with a ceviche I had at a restaurant so I ommitted the celery and avacado and used a red onion instead and added mango. I let the shrimp soak in the lime juice for about 4 hours, put everything together and put it on ice to get it really chilled. I quartered flour tortillas, sprayed them with cooking spray and baked them @375 for 10 minutes and served them with the ceviche - they were perfect together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyJak

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This is quick! If you want to "kick it up a few notches, use green jalepeno's chopped fine. It gives a sweet starting taste and a little "afterburner"... Sweet and sassy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I made this for a dinner party I threw. Everyone love it. I ended up using large shrimp and only used half a pound. I added two pieces of white fish as well. I let it "cook" in the lime juice all morning. Other than that I pretty much stayed with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Loved this recipe!!!! Next time i am adding some mango for some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Loved this! I didn't change a thing. Great balance of flavors - I am a huge fan of ceviche and am thrilled to have a new "go to" recipe that is so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdiCroft

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ninapastina
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Yum! I was craving ceviche and this was perfect! I tweaked it slightly though, by adding diced cucumbers instead of celery, the juice of one lemon, and some lemon and lime zest. I also used frozen cooked shrimp and canned diced tomatoes, and was amazed at how fresh it still tasted. This is a great basic ceviche recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ninapastina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Made it last night for a big group of friends & they all loved it! The celery really did add a nice little touch. Since I didn't have a lot of time, I used already cooked shrimp - only marinated for about 2 hours before I served it. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cusine By Colleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Mahi Mahi Ceviche

See how to make a refreshing chilled fish salad.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Crab Ceviche

See how to make a simple ceviche with imitation crab meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States