Josephine's Puerto Rican Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
We love chicken and rice. By adding chorizo or linguica adds so much flavor to the dish. I also add my home made sofrito which includes chopped onions, green peppers and cilantro and garlic. I don't use tomato sauce, I cook in chicken broth and add sazon for red color. Try these additions for adding great flavor to arroz con pollo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA
Living In: Carmel, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
4 cups of uncooked rice? That's two pounds. I don't think that's really what they meant. I think the recipe is a little boring even with 2 cups uncooked to make 4 cups cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
To make this recipe work, you have to cut the rice down to 1 1/2 cups and add at least 1 more cup of liquid. I used a can a chicken broth. If you can't find achiote seeds, buy Achiote y Culantro seasoning packets by Goya and add one. Change the lard for Olive Oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
After reading the reviews about the recipe being "bland", I skipped the achiote step entirely and simply added a packet of Sazon with achiote to the first 7 ingredients as everything sauteed. I also added 1/4 cup of store bought Sofrito (frozen Goya brand). I added the 4 cups of water after the chicken was lightly cooked and then added the 4 cups of rice once the mixture started to boil. My rice was cooked throughly, but even after 35 minutes of steaming, it was still slightly "wet" causing the rice to be sticky. I suggest reducing the water by half a cup to ensure the rice is more "fluffy". The meal was very flavorful with the two additional ingredients added, but since my result wasn't from the original recipe, I only gave it 3 stars. It's not exactly like abuelita makes, but it's a good start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I'm Puerto Rican and I've had my share of arroz con pollo in my life time. This was not a favorite. To me, it was very bland and the water to rice ratio was not adequate. I also do not like to have the bones in my chicken when I'm eating this dish. It's a family preference. So, I used boneless skinless chicken thighs. I had to change so many things to make this come out the way I expected it, that I really wouldn't recommend this recipe at all. Maybe it would work for people who like subtle flavors. I like flavors to pop,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Great flavor but my rice wasn't done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mona

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Great recipe. I made just a few small changes. Instead of drumsticks I use boneless skinless chicken thighs. Still great flavor but easier (I think). Also I added Adobo seasoning for flavor and of course start with Sofrito that I make myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This was excellente recipe, love it definetelly will continue making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Romana, La Romana, Dominican Republic
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This is the best chicken and rice dish I've ever had!!!! Awsome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Izabelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Again, too much work and nothing in return. The rice to water ratio was all wrong. My rice was crunchy and terrible, but at least the chicken was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States