Jo's Mountain Mush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Wow! Thanks Jo. This has become our new camping breakfast. I substituted kielbasa for the frankfurters and added some onion and garlic. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
Loved it! And it was so easy to do while camping! We used marshmallow roasting sticks to roast the hot dogs, and cooked the potatoes in foil. Then mixed it all together in a new foil pack and heated everything together. Very easy and no clean up! I'll add some chopped onions next time for flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
My kids liked this!! I seasoned the potatoes heavily with onion powder and garlic powder. I omitted the salt, as the hot dogs and beans have alot of salt in them already. I served it with corn bread and fruit. A delicious, hearty meal for cold nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
Wow. My son is home from college and he said he definitely wanted the recipe for this. Good and really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Good,and simple. What more could Iask?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This was a good mix of hot dog and beans with a twist. The boys in the house really liked it. We of course added more hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
My boyfriend and his old college buddy who was staying with us loved this. Instead of frankfurters, I used half kielbasa, half polish sausage (sliced). Followed the recipe from there. It didn't seem "breakfasty" to me but the boys devoured this. Thank you Jo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This was great, and very easy to make. My family really liked it and I found it to be a very hearty, filling and warm, especially in the cold mountain air where we were camping. I think next time, I'm going to use kielbasa instead of the wieners, like someone else on here suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lawavediva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Didn't think this would work as well as it did. However, since I don't like canned baked beans, I added pinto beans and mixed it all with a brown gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
There was nothing wrong with this, but we all agreed we would have rather just had beans and weiners with the crispy fried potatoes on the side. The name says it all...after frying my potatoes to a beautiful crispy brown, by adding them to the beans, they simply became mush!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallsington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States