Jo's Chicken Liver Pate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I am a huge fan of pate, both smooth and rough, but have never made it before. I found this recipe, read the reviews, which is always preliminary, and boy oh boy, was this one fantastic! Great job, Jo! If you have a recipe for the rough pate, please do share!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheffield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Love this recipe but I did change it a little...deglazed the pan with brandy instead of wine and, after I cooled the liver mixture I added 2 tsp. of brandy and 1/4 cup of cold butter to the food processor. Makes a beautiful smooth texture, adds creaminess and a hint of brandy flavour.Grand Marnier instead of brandy also works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This was alright. I love pate, and usually just wing it. This is the first time I have really followed a recipe for it. I had some problems not getting it smooth enough and had to push it through a metal strainer. I added lemon juice, which I love in pate. I love onions, but for me they were too strong in this recipe. Thank you, though for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
THIS PATE IS FAB-U-LOSO!! I have a keen appreciation for pate and this recipe does not disapoint. I made certain to soak the livers for several hours (at least 4) in milk and it's very important not to rinse before adding to the skillet. Also, very important to use a good wine as the flavor will be concentrated. Crappy wine = crappy flavor. I've made this dish with pork livers as well, and while it was also excellent, I personally perfer the flavor of chicken livers as opposed to pork. I've shared this recipe with several of my family and friends and they too claim its the best and easiest (least involved) pate they've made. Good job! Gold stars all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Much too much thyme and rosemary for my taste, and too sweet. My wine could be partly to blame, but I think the recipe needs a lot of fiddling. Also, I haven't made pate before, but it's pretty grey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is ALMOST as good as 'Fritz's Pate' from the Nero Wolfe cookbook and costs about one tenth as much. It'll be my 'go-to' recipe for all but the very most festive occasions. KS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This a very good all around chicken pate recipe. I have made a lot of different types. I think most people would like this recipe. I added some fresh lemon juice, just my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This is the most delicious pate I have ever eaten. I made it to be used in a Beef Wellington recipe. It made the Wellington wonderful and the leftover pate was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Wow; Wow; Wow. What can I say this is a dynamite recipe. From a man's perspective with the usual 2 left thumbs this was easy to make and tastes out of this world. Thank you for sharing your recipe. Perhaps this would qualify as "Man Tested" Regards Peter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Chef John's Buffalo Chicken Dip

See Chef John’s secrets for making the best game-day dip ever!

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States