Jordan Marsh Style Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Before you even bite into one of these what impresses you is just how pretty they are--picture perfect! I filled my muffin cups to the top and got 12, perfectly plump and rounded muffins. I used butter rather than shortening, tho' I'm sure shortening would be just as good. I sprinkled cinnamon sugar over the batter before baking, and baked them at a constant 375 degrees. As for the taste, it was refreshing, for a change, to eat a muffin rather than a dense, sweet little cake masquerading as a muffin. Delicious and "homey" tasting. I really enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
I was so excited when I saw this recipe as I had had the Jordan Marsh Blueberry Muffin recipe and lost it several years ago. I've also had the actual Jordan Marsh muffins. To say I was disappointed is an understatement. These were awful. If I were to try them again (and it's a bit "if") I would definately substitute butter or margarine for the shortening. It was all you could taste, particularly when you use it to grease the muffin tins too. I actually threw them out. No one liked them. The other Jordan Marsh recipe I had was sooo much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
These Muffins were pretty good, I just hate it when people write terible reviews, and in my opinion, most of the reviews were "right on" as far as this recipe goes, so I tend to follow what those people say, and they were right, definately a good recipe to keep on hand, Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2000
I've tried a bunch of blueberry recipes off this site, and this one won the day! Others were good, but this one is the best - my husband and i couldn't stop eating them :o). I highly recommend this recipe - it is the only kind of blueberry muffin i will make from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
I just got this recipe last week and I have already made them twice. These are good, bakery style muffins. We love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
These muffins are tender, moist and full of blueberries. I'd compare them very favorably to a bakery muffin, quite sweet and with a cake-like texture. Some homemade muffins have a coarse crumb that doesn't keep very well and is best when still warm. These actually seem better when completely cool and keep ok for a day or so. I used butter instead of shortening as the recipe author suggests and didn't measure the berries, just added until it looked about right. The batter was quite stiff, I had to spoon mounds into my cupcake tin filled with foil liners and it came up above the rim of the cups quite a bit. I was worried that the batter would run over, but I think the stiff batter and the 5 minutes at 450 and then turning the temperature down to 375 for the rest of the cooking sets up the tops so they stay put. They didn't dome up really high, but they weren't flat or sunken. Definitely my new blueberry muffin recipe. And if you were wondering about the name, Jordan Marsh was a department store in New England that sold blueberry muffins with a sugar topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
I made these but used half shortening half butter. They tatsted great and the recipe made exactly what they promised. I mashed the blueberries for my 4 year old and he thought they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
Excellent recipe!! Made for my hubbo then he had me make them for his place of work!! Didn't come home with even one!! Thank you for posting it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
have been baking these muffins for years. My grandchildren think they are the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2000
Just like Jordan Marsh's. Be sure to use ripe berries. Otherwise may be too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States