Jordan Marsh Style Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Okay, this was the 3rd blueberry muffin recipe I tried this weekend. The first, To Die For BBM, the second, some other I found on a blog with sour cream, and then this one. I won't be needing to find a 4th!!! I was so excited to have gotten it right this time! I used butter instead of shortening (personal preference). That was the only variation. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This is my families favorite muffin recipe! I have been making it for years the only difference being 1/2 cup unsalted butter instead of shortening. I have also made these substituting diced apples for the blueberries and sprinkling the top with cinnamon sugar or cranberries and adding zest from one orange. FYI...Jordan Marsh was a department store in New England and Florida. They had a bakery that was regionally famous for its blueberry muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Ok, followed the recipe exactly the first time and they came out so-so. Switched to butter flavor shortening the second time and they were slightly better, but still just average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This was a good recipe. I have never had a "Jordan Marsh" muffin, so I cant compare it to the real thing. I baked these as a coffee cake instead of muffins. I followed the recipe as written except I used an Organic Non-Hydrogenated Shortening (Spectrum) and doubled the vanilla. I baked it in a square glass cake pan at 350 for about 40 minutes. It would have been even better with a crumb topping. The cake part is really sweet and fluffy, and my blueberries were very tart so it was a fantastic contrast. We really enjoyed it, and I will make more while blueberries are in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
These muffins came out very fluffy and moist. I did substitute the shortening with Smart Balance spread, and used brown sugar instead of white. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Very good w/ a little tweaking. I used 1/4 C veg. shortening and 1/4 C margerine; I used 3/4 C white sugar and 1/4 C brown sugar; I used an egg replacer b/c my daughter is allergic to eggs; I also sprinkled them w/ cinamon sugar on top before baking. I baked them at 375 and they took less than 20 min.'s. I was very impressed that they made such wonderful sized muffins, those boxed kinds are always so small. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kane's Mom
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I was very pleased with these muffins! My son has a dairy allergy, so I was happy to see the use of shortening instead of butter. I used soy milk in place of regular milk and they turned out great! And they look so pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toluca, Illinois, USA
Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This is my new favorite muffin recipe. They came out great! Crispy tops with a nice, smooth cake-like texture inside. Toss the blueberries with a little of the flour mixture before you add them to the batter to keep them from sinking to the bottom of the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
My family and I did not care for these -- and I even replaced the shortening with butter. They were just very, very bland. My daughters, who normally beg for blueberry muffins, wouldn't even eat them. Try the Blueberry Cream Muffin recipe from this site. Soooo much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Before I even tried this recipe I knew I would have to substitute butter for shortening (always do because we rarely ever use anything but butter). The end result is wonderful and this recipe is miles ahead of a lot of the terrible ones I have tried from this site. Thanks for, at last, having a reliable blueberry muffin. Also you can add the grated rind of 1 lemon and reduce sugar to 1 cup....depending on your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States