Jordan Marsh Style Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
These are awesome muffins. I used margarine instead of shortening and shortened the baking time to 25 min and they were WELL done at that point. It was so basic and simple but amazingly delicious with tender muffin inside, crunchy outside. Will definitely use this recipe for muffins from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This recipe is close but not the original, so I have adjusted my rating to 4 stars. If you switch to using butter and add a half cup of crushed blueberries, then it will become a 5-star recipe. Most of the online recipes I've seen leave out an important step to make them the authentic Jordan Marsh blueberry muffins as sold at the store. I’m over 60 years old and grew up in Boston enjoying these wonderful muffins. I have posted the recipe at my website Fran's Faves with the technique of crushing some of the blueberries to give the muffins their famous purplish hue. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FransFavs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I've read other "Jordan Marsh Blueberry Muffin" recipes that are mostly identical with the exception being butter vs. shortening. As is (using butter) this recipe is fabulous. Variations that have made this recipe exceptional include the addition of 1-2 tsp of lemon zest (add it to the flour mixture), 1/2 cup of mashed blueberries in addition to the 2 cups of blueberries, and the streusel topping (2 Tbsp brown sugar , 2 Tbsp unsalted butter melted, 1/3 C flour). I'm also going to experiment using buttermilk vs. milk and brown sugar vs. white sugar. I'm positive the buttermilk will be a winning change as well, since that ingredient is a staple in my baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Its perfect.my kids n my husband liked them alot.i also followed this same recipe for making chocolate chip muffins.I added 1/3 cup chocolate chips for that.they also turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Just opened a bakery and this is the recipe I'm using. Can't bake them fast enough! I use butter milk, instead of milk. Today I added coconut and almond extract instead of blueberries. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Ann Lewis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I've been making these for years and they taste just like the original at the store. Although my recipe calls for 375 degrees the entire time and butter instead of shortening. I also might try updating it to make them a bit healthier: decreasing sugar, using apple sauce instead of butter, half whole weat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I haven't reviewed anything on AR forever, but these were so good that they deserve a review. Probably the best blueberry muffins I have ever had. Used butter instead of shortening, and used King Arthur White White Whole Wheat flour for all of the flour. Oh my, they are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
So great....moist and the perfect amount of blueberries. My 15 month old son LOVED them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
An excellent recipe! I did use butter instead of shortening and used half whole wheat and half white flour. The muffins turned out very light and tasty and I loved the sugar sprinkled on top. I don't know why some one would give this a bad review. Sometimes I think it might have been a cooking error on their part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianna Moorer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Puckett, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States