Jordan Marsh Style Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Great Recipe!! I did a couple of things like other viewers. I did half Brown Sugar and half White Sugar. I did the Half Butter and Half Shortening. I also did 1 1/2 tsp of Lemon Juice. I will make this one again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I used half butter and half shortening. Cut the sugar down to about 2/3 cup. Of the 2/3 cup sugar - used a bit less than half brown sugar. These came out perfectly! (Better than any other I've tried - even the Strusel Top) Delicious - crunchy on top and moist in the middle. Just enough sweetness. This has just become my regular blueberry muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Oh ... I like this recipe... It worked well for me... The pilots that I work with will love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Inuvik, Northwest Territories, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I've come across many Jordan Marsh Blueberry Muffin recipes - I even had this same recipe except it called for butter - but none came out like the real thing. I was hoping the shortening would be the difference. These muffins were pretty good, but they didn't taste or look like the ones I remember. I'll make these again, but I'm still searching for the authentic recipe! P.S. If anyone else is as obsessed about this as I am, let me know if you've ever found a JM Blueberry Muffin recipe that called for sweetened condensed milk??? I'm afraid to even try ... :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
these muffins looks very nice. texture was very good. the only thing i didnt like about it is that this is too sweet. the aftertaste was just plain white sugar. didnt feel like eating more after the first bite. next time i would replace half of the sugar with brown sugar. i hope this would improve the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Shenzhen, Guangdong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I made the muffins with fresh picked wild blackberries and splenda. Still good, my husband and neighbors liked them. Very easy to make. Next time I'll put a little lemon juice in the mix to snap-up the taste and make them bigger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
It has been years since I have had a JM blueberry muffin, so I can't honestly say if these taste authentic or not, but they sure were yummy! I needed to cook them for about 10 minutes less than the recipe calls for because my oven temperature is off and I used 1 cup of dried blueberries since I can't get fresh or frozen blueberries where I live. Other than that I follwed the recipe exactly and I am very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cairo Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
These are really, really good and easy to make!! I only gave 4 stars, because they were a little too sweet for me, but that is just my taste..my husband loved them!! I will make these again, but might cut back a little of the sugar on the top. I will never make boxed muffins again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathi from NJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iselin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
WOW! These are really yummy and very easy. I used butter instead of shortening and frozen blueberries, and they came out delicious. At first, it seemed like I could have stretched the batter to 15 muffins. But I loaded up 12 muffin cups and they came out with beautiful, fluffy muffin tops. Definitely fill each cup until it's almost overflowing. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
These are fantastic! Everybody loves them. They're definitely not the healthy muffins that you might go for, but these are treat muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States