Jollyrogers' Chilaquiles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mother Sunshine
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Super delicious! I modified it with pinto beans instead of meat, enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce (we like spicy!), pepper jack instead of cotija, and topped w/cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Brought it to a group potluck and it got the most compliments. Just enough spice to it. Added black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I added scrambled eggs to the layers. Much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
not sure why the directions say parmesan cheese when that's not in the ingredients list, but if you use the cotija you'll be a happy eater!! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Delicious. I didn't fry the corn tortillas and instead cooked them in the oven until crispy to make a bit healthier. It worked very well. I also didn't marinate the onions and olives in the vinegar. I just cooked them in with the tortilla mixture as usually don't like vegetables marinated in vinegar. I added the mexican style hot sauce on top, as it didn't say where to add it into the recipe. I used soy burger crumbles as my husband is a vegetarian and I also used more taco seasoning that called for (by accident) and was still delicious. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I made enchiladas and used the essentially used it as the sauce. Super Duper Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Never heard of this dish before so I didn't know what to expect. Very very tasty, a little on the spicy side (from the chorizo), and not very substantial - more like a thick meatless chili. I followed the recipe exactly, used all the optional ingredients, but used shredded cheddar. I think I'll make this again, as it was very tasty, but instead not fry the tortillas (very labor intensive to fry them crisp, just to turn around and put them in a sauce to soften) OR use the corn tortillas to make enchiladas and pour the sauce over. UPDATE: I wanted to make this, had all the ingreds, except only flour tortillas. The difference in taste and texture was huge - do not substitute with flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I was skeptical even after it was ready, because it's not that pleasing to the eye... but the flavor is incredible! No one even realized I used meatless chorizo. I prefer too cook the onions with the sauce than to leave them raw in the vinegar. And if you can't find corn tortillas, I'd personally suggest flour tortillas over using chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALASKA GIRL
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Super delicious!! Layered mine with onions, olives and black beans marinated in vinegar, plus cilantro. Used cchorizo. Outstanding! Eggs with it would be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKA GIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I'd never even heard of this particular dish, but it looked good and decided to give it a shot. Like Betty, I cannot seem to find corn tortilla's here in Jersey, so I too used the chips instead. Just because I had it in the house, I poached boneless chicken breasts which I shredded and added to the dish. I always use cocoa powder in my chile and love that layer of flavor, not to mention the nice color it gives the sauce so if it sounds strange to anyone give it a go; you won't be sorry. My daughter went nuts over this recipe and immediately gave it five stars. (Update on this recipe: Important and sorry but I forgot to include that I could not find the tomato sauce suggested in the recipe so I used plain sauce and added a bit of cayenne. A friend of mine did use the hot tomato sauce and he was sorry he did. Beware it's quite spicy) Very good JollyRogers and thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States