Johnsonville Zesty Italian Sausage Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is a family favorite. I like to throw in some italian seasoning, sliced red pepper, add a little evaporated milk or cream cheese and a good amount of shredded parmesan cheese to make it creamy, if I have it on hand. Great quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I added yellow pepper...very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I enjoyed this, but I did make some changes. I sauteed mushrooms with the garlic and onion. I used fresh tomato rather than canned. I added strips of red and yellow pepper. I added Italian seasoning, garlic powder, a little crushed red peppper, and rosemary. lol I guess I just used the recipe as a jumping off point, but it worked well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
My family really loves this dish. I added bell peppers and served with garlic bread. It smells so good while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Terry E.
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
We really enjoyed .... did add mushrooms and sliced the onion country thick... loved the flavor, loved the comfort. Great on a cold Northern Illinois Night after work for a quick dinner in front of the TV.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I liked the flavors in this recipe, but there are problems with the ingredient proportions. First of all, if I make this again, I will use less pasta and more broccoli. The broccoli was a welcome addition to the heaviness of the sausage, and I wanted more broccoli and far less pasta. Secondly, I use non-stick skillets to saute, and 3 Tablespoons of olive oil seemed excessive to me. I cut back the olive oil to 2 teaspoons,and it was quite enough. Also, I feel the cooking method could be streamlined. Three pots are necessary if you prepare the way the recipe suggests. In addition, the sauce is quite watery, so if your family is accustomed to a thicker sauce, you will need to make some adjustments here. Since I used Johnsonville hot Italian sausage, the dish was quite flavorful. I just feel this recipe is not quite ready for prime time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I tweaked this recipe - a lot. But I loved the recipe in that it gave me some great ideas when I was having a hard time finding ways to use up what was in my fridge! Here's what I made: I started with a whole wheat spaghetti. I usually hate wheat pasta, but I didn't even notice that it was wheat, and neither did my husband! I added in turkey sausage, broccoli, peppers, onions, tomatoes, and lots of garlic and herbs. I didn't have any chicken broth, so I made a cream and red pepper puree that I added in to the pan. It was SOOO GOOD. I also made a basil-infused oil that I drizzled over the top. My husband has already asked me to make this again and it's been less than a week. Thanks Johnsonville for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindseyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grandville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Easy to make and tasty but not anything interesting. I wish the sauce would have turned out thicker, it was a little too soupy. A nice alternative to spaghetti though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
My family really liked the recipe only I added diced yellow peppers to onions and garlic along with half a block of cream cheese and Italian seasoning to sauce before adding items together. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I just made this and it was really good with a few changes. It was a little thin-sauced so I added one half brick of creme cheese, then when almost done made a cornstarch and water thickner, added a little milk and Italian seasonings to make one yummy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emmett, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States