Johnsonville® Italian Sausage Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Been using this recipe for around 35 years. I use half ground beef and half italian sausage. Also, frozen spinach works fine. If you don't have ricotta cheese use cottage cheese. I've also tried it with swiss cheese on top, then sprinkle parmesan on that and bake. Great recipe, don't think you will be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I keep switching between this recipe and Enchilada Lasagna that I've taken from gourmetrecipe.com. The taste is just very adorable. I think I can't let go both of these recipes. The procedures written on this page is a little bit different from mine. I guess I'm gonna have to apply it even though I already have different versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
OMG, this is the best lasagna my husband and I have ever had. This tastes worthy of being served in a restaurant..!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This recipe is great if you use it as a base for making lasagna. I realize this is a Johnsonville recipe, but the ground sausage wasn't sold at the store I went to so I used italian ground turkey (which is healthier anyway) and turned out just as good in my opinion. Also, made my own marinara/basil/red wine sauce. One other thing I changed that seemed to add a little more flavor was I sauteed the garlic and onions separate from the meat/marinara sauce and put them in with the ricotta spinach with a little powdered garlic as well. I'm sure it doesn't matter but I don't like plain layers of ricotta when you get that bite. I flavored my own sauce with oregano so it was in the pasta, not just on top like the recipe says (I would recommend making the sauce with more spices, even if you buy jarred). Also, add on a few more sprinkles of mozzarella on top about 10 mins before the lasagna is supposed to be done... then leave in the oven for just a tad longer than it's supposed to once you turn the oven off so the italian spices brown a little and the flavors blend (YUM!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This was an absolute hit with the family! Only a few changes were made on my part. I used 2 cups ricotta and 2 cups low fat cottage cheese. I also used frozen spinach, thawed instead of fresh. Time consuming but worth it, as there will be left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This was fabulous and so easy!I added some thawed frozen chopped spinach over the first layer of ricotta mixture and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This is absolutely the BEST lasagna I have ever eaten! Followed the recipe exactly and it was wonderful. I can hardly wait to eat leftovers for lunch tomorrow! Even my picky 4-year-old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was underwhelming to say the least. I was disappointed in the lack of flavor in this dish. The recipe really needs to kick up the seasoning and meat. It was edible but I will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Love this... it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRedD69

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
AMAZING! I changed a couple of things to make it spicier. I used spicy ground sausage instead of regular, spicy marinara sauce instead of four cheese and frozen spinach that was thawed and drained. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hutto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States