Johnsonville® Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Oookay....I have my own delicious recipe for meatballs BUT decided to try these. I think these a wonderful. I made them just as written and added them to a spaghetti sauce recipe I got on this site. Really good!!! PS I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Valentine Spratt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
The best! I stopped making my own sausage when I discovered Johnsonville Mild Italian a few years ago. It is so good so I knew this recipe would be great and it is. The only thing I did different was use Ritz cracker crumbs for the bread crumbs, but other than that do not change a thing; it is perfect as is and couldn't be easier. (Idiot proof!) It is my only meatball recipe from now on. Thanks Johnsonville!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
These were fantastic! Changes I made: used turkey sausage as this is what we had in the freezer, used very finely crushed saltines as we were out of breadcrumbs, increased saltines to 1/2 c as the mixture was a bit too goopy to form a proper meatball, threw in some fresh garlic, garlic powder, a liberal amount of red pepper flakes cuz we like things spicy, a dusting of ground oregano and a few crushed fennel seeds. I made 16 balls out of this so had to bake about 30 minutes, til they were nice and brown on their bottoms :) and oozing melted parmesan. The texture and consistency of the finished product was great, tender yet firm enough to withstand simmering in a red gravy, or even a bbq sauce if you care to change up the sausage flavor/seasoning a bit. I served these with penne and roasted tomatoes and roasted hot Italian garlic with crumbled feta cheese and fresh chopppd basil from my potted Globe. They were a bit hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I made half of this recipe using hot Italian sausage, seasoned bread crumbs and adding a clove of garlic. Note: for half an egg use two tablespoons of beaten egg. The sausage mixture is very sticky so be sure to moisten your hands with water when rolling these into balls. I baked mine for just a little over 20 minutes. I made these early in the day, freezing some for later and reserving some to re-heat in my spaghetti sauce (Inger’s Spaghetti Sauce, also found here on AR). These were good, but I think Hubs liked them better than I did. I also thought they really needed some salt. I might try half ground beef and half Italian sausage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Excellent recipe! My sons are allergice to dairy and eggs... So I used an egg replacer for the egg, and rice milk in lieu of dairy milk. The bread crumbs comparable to their allergies is OAT bread. Finally, in lieu of dairy cheese, I used a non-dairy, non-soy cheese. They were awesome! My entire family greatly enjoyed this meal! THANKS FOR SHARING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tramise Wilcoxson Hines

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I made it exactly as written(but with HOT sausage) and my husband RAVED! He had me make it again the very next day only a double batch! This is a new staple recipe that we eat with quinoa pasta and tomato sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinUpaStorm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I made it with half sausage and half ground beef, excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
These were a hit. My teenage boys loved 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Delicious! Very flavorful, moist, and easy. Used these in meatball subs with homemade marinara. Next time I think I will try half ground beef, half sausage, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
My family loved them as well as the guests. Simple and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

How to Make Italian Meatballs

See the secret to tender baked Italian meatballs.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States