Johnson Family Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This recipe was very good! I doubled the filling because I like a gooey sticky cinnamon roll, but it was good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
For flavor, I think next time I will double the cinnamon sugar mixture seemed a little lacking in flavor and gooeyness but not bad. They were still good. Just need more cinnamon sugar next time for my tastes. Easy and no eggs which is a plus for my family as our son has an egg allergy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I use my bread maker for the dough. turned great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA@

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I love these cinnamon rolls! They aren't the huge, gross, overly-sweet, and overly-sticky cinnamon buns available at the store or a certain cinnamon roll shop found in malls and air ports. These cinnamon rolls are just sweet enough, small enough that one roll is a reasonable portion for one person, and the rolls are delicious iced lightly with a cream cheese frosting. These cinnamon rolls didn't last a day when I made them for my friends and family and I'll definitely make them again. The only change I made was to add extra cinnamon to the cinnamon-sugar mixture and I iced them with a vanilla cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I used the dough as a base, and made a "cheese bun" variation of these - they were incredible! After I rolled out the dough, I brushed it with a little butter, and then used about 4 and a half processed light cheese slices as the filling. (Only because my toddler loves them, but they would be awesome with shredded cheddar!) Rolled it all up, and sliced then baked as directed. The buns were soft and fluffy, not too dense or too sweet. Very good!!! I'll be using this recipe again - for cinnamon rolls, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is a great sweet roll dough, I have made exactly like the recipe and also did it with rasins and a little more sugar. Both times they were great, but really fabulous with cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Peterson Ursenbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These are absolutely fabulous! I made them exactly as the recipe reads, and I have had requests from family and friends over and over again for them! I used my bread machine to make the dough, and placed the ingredients into the bread machine in the exact order listed in this recipe and it works great! I wanted some smaller rolls to take to work to share, so today I followed the recipe to a tee, but after I rolled the dough out and put the butter and cinnamon suger on, I used a pizza cutter to cut the whole thing in half lenghthwise. Then I rolled the two halves up separately, and cut each one into twelve pieces, giving me 24 "mini-rolls". I have them in the oven now, but am watching them to see if I need to reduce the cooking time by a couple of minutes for the smaller rolls. Worked beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmikmik
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Fabulous. Easy. Delicious!! Have made it with different butter and cream cheese icings!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmikmik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make these rolls as a fun weekend baking project with my son. I proofed the yeast with the warm water and the sugar for ten minutes in the mixer bowl, then added the vegetable oil, flour, dry milk powder (I used dry BUTTERMILK powder) and salt. We did need a little more flour than what was called for. We kneaded the dough with the bread hook for about five minutes, then set the dough to rise for an hour or so on a warm heating pad. I rolled out the dough and my son mixed the softened butter together with the sugar and cinnamon and spread it on the rolled out dough (it was just easier for him to do it that way). We sliced them up and set them in a baking pan, covered them with foil and set them in the fridge to set overnight. We'll update our review once we bake them in the morning. EDITED: I took them out of the fridge this morning and set them on a warm baking sheet to finish out the second rise. 400* for about 15 minutes and we were in business. I used Cinnamon Roll Icing to drizzle over the top, which is also on this site. These were okay, but not our favorite. It didn't seem to have enough of the cinnamon sugar filling and these seemed a little on the dry side, even with icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Wow! These were awesome. Followed suggestion of other reviewers and doubled the filling. These were a-m-a-z-i-n-g. Took a long time to make, but totally worth it! Leftover rolls reheated nicely....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States