John's Flammekueche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
This is an awesome recipe. I am a vegan so I changed the cream to non-dairy sour cream. I used thawed pizza dough instead of french bread dough (because it was all I had). I sliced the onion very thin and didn't chop. I used soy margarine and Bac-o's (which are vegan). My husband flipped over this one! He's not vegan and he thought it was scrumptious! I was a little scared of this recipe at first, but it was so easy and delicious. Beware though, it is very rich! I'll definitely be making this often! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
I thought the taste was good, but I messed up somewhere. The melted butter, onions, and light cream mixture was so watery, it didn't "spread" on my rolled out dough, it ran off onto the baking sheet. My bacon boiled in the water with the potatoes, but stayed "boiled" and flemsy and not crispy, even after being in the oven. I think next time I will not use the potatoes and use cheese. Also, the butter/cream mixture needs to be thickened somehow. But, the taste was really good! It's very different! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
The taste was great, but I also had the problem with the sauce being way too thin. It made the dough so soggy that when I tried to get it off the sheet, everything fell apart. I will give this receipe another try, but next time I will reduce the sauce to 2/3 cup and put the ingredients on the dough first and then cover it with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRAXIGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walldürn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
We loved this. The sauce was to thin though. I thought next time I would add some flour to the onion mixture then add a little less cream. I loved the potatoes. Thanks for the new and different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelsimad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Great recipe but it was a little too soggy for me so the last few minutes I broiled it in the oven to crisp up the potatoes and the bacon. It makes great leftovers as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mertztown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
I had to bake this for longer than 10 minutes but it's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
looked at suggestions and still had some problems with the sauce being too thin. We ended up with a big mess. Still very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Recipe just didn't cut the muster
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
These are the best I have tasted. I am a veggie too. Used soy bacon and sour cream. Fabulous. Thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
My husband made this and it came out a bit under cooked and messy. Can't say if it was the cook or the recipe to blame, but the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Chef John's Quick Cassoulet

In this video, you’ll see how to make cassoulet in just an hour.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States