John's Crabby Caps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2001
These are so awesome! I thought I was eating at a fancy restaurant!!! The sherry gives them the kick they need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2001
Excellent! Excellent! Emeril Who?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
Excellent!! I will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stijerina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Recipe tastes absolutely great & is very easy to prepare! I liked using smaller, bite-sized mushrooms rather than large ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Great mushrooms! I added some cayenne to give them a kick. Be sure to have lemon wedges available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
What more can I say? These were incredible! I did add a little cayenne and a bit of sherry to the mixture as well. Make sure you purchase a good brand of crab. Good goin' John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
OK, I admit that I didn't really read all the directions first. I just mixed everything together, threw it on some Portobello mushroom caps for a meal sized portion, put it in the oven topped with Provolone cheese. It was so good, fast and easy. 11/03 i have made them a few times now and they have turned out very dry when they weren't topped with the provolone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Added in some Mozzarella cheese. Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Made these and dusted them with crabbyjohns seasoning. great resipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
These are awesome!!! I agree they are a bit salty, but the second time I made them, I did not add any salt. I used a combo of grated parm and freshly grated pecorino. I like the taste of marsala with my stuffed mushrooms so I used a little marsala with the sherry (2 parts sherry to 1 part marsala). I also drizzled a little marsala over each stuffed mushroom and topped with freshly grated pecorino before baking. I served these a at a football party and they were a crowd favorite. Definitely a staple for all my parties now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Chef John’s Beef Sliders

See how to make perfect homemade sliders.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States