John's Crabby Caps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Diana
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I diverted from this recipe some... Customized it to my liking. I used Parmesan cheese, and smoked pepper jack, no Italian seasoning, sherry, or chili powder, I used a couple of teaspoons of hot sauce instead. The way the ingredients collaborated just tasted so divine! I will try to make the next batch like John posted it just to see if I like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2003
What more can I say? These were incredible! I did add a little cayenne and a bit of sherry to the mixture as well. Make sure you purchase a good brand of crab. Good goin' John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2001
Excellent! Excellent! Emeril Who?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2001
These are so awesome! I thought I was eating at a fancy restaurant!!! The sherry gives them the kick they need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
OK, I admit that I didn't really read all the directions first. I just mixed everything together, threw it on some Portobello mushroom caps for a meal sized portion, put it in the oven topped with Provolone cheese. It was so good, fast and easy. 11/03 i have made them a few times now and they have turned out very dry when they weren't topped with the provolone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Great mushrooms! I added some cayenne to give them a kick. Be sure to have lemon wedges available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Recipe tastes absolutely great & is very easy to prepare! I liked using smaller, bite-sized mushrooms rather than large ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
Excellent!! I will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stijerina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
These are excellent but I'm only giving them 4 stars because they are SO salty. If they come up with a low-salt Parmesan cheese, then these will definitely be 5 stars. I was a little low on Paremsan cheese so I topped it off with a little mozzarella, which didn't seem to make a difference in the taste. I served this with homemade tomato soup and a side of salad. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
I thought the parmesan definitely made them too salty. I almost doubled the mayo and it was still dry. I've made others w/ more butter and lemon and different cheeses that were better. I just drowned these in lemon to finish them up. Sry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Chef John’s Beef Sliders

See how to make perfect homemade sliders.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States